One Meal A Day: Meal Everyday.

in #charity6 years ago

Dear Steemians,

Still in the mood of love and giving. There is no way you can love without giving.

"A heart full of love will always look for faces to make happy". - Olawalium.

I would rather live for a day and touch many lives, than to live for hundred years, and not be remembered by anyone.

Mr. @damarth started an initiative which i still believe is on going. I told him a story of a man that usually come to my place of work but i don't usually give him more than enough that can even last for a meal. I put it forward to him and he duly obliged by upvoting $15.

Few others joined and took the tally to $17. (I am only stating them for accountability purposes). I like being a man of my words and i don't fancy dishonesty.

There is this proverb i love so much in my local language but i will translate it to English:

"He has money, but he doesn't have a say. He has charm, but he isn't brave. Whoever says a thing and turned back against his word to say he didn't say it or mean it, let us join voices together and call such person a coward".

If we care enough, share enough, the world will have enough. The world has enough of our needs, but not enough for our greed.

To be true to my words to Mr. @damarth and the kind hearted people who voted it and read it, i present to you the goods gotten from the cash out on Thursday:

image

image

ITEMS GOTTEN/GIVEN with proofs:

  1. RICE (3 Modules each)
  2. BEANS (3 Modules each)
  3. CASSAVA MEAL (FLAKES) (6 Modules each)
  4. SEMOVITA (1 sachet each)
  5. ONIONS (20 pieces for each)
  6. GROUNDNUT OIL (1 bottle each)
  7. PALM OIL (1 bottle each)
  8. SALT (1 sachet each)
  9. CASH GIVEN. (1,000 each).

image

image
BAGGED

image

The price of Steem Based Dollars (SBD) increased on the day of the cash out, so i was able to get more items. I noticed another man not too far from my workplace too, so rather than only one person benefiting from it, i increased it to two. Also, i made sure it is not just a day's meal to feed on, but something that can last them for a while and the reason is simple: (instead of spreading it to lot of people, which i still aim to do after this by God's help and support from fellow Steemians), they are old people. They have limited strength and they still have families. I wouldn't want them to just keep coming, having to depend on stipends to feed their families, hence the reason for getting this in bulk and splitting with two of them. Let them be free from the worries of "What are we going to eat today", and be consumed with "Which meal should we prepare today?". A change for a start.

Apart from splitting the items with the two of them, they also got 1,000 naira (local currency) each (from the balance that remained); to get any other things they might need which i didn't get for them.

NB: Only one man has been given his items. The other old man hasn't been seen for a while; the one that frequently come to our office. I hope he is okay.

image

I gave a promise that if Mr. @damarth grants it, i will show him proofs (just like @papa-pepper would say hahahaha), and that is the reason i snapped the goods separately, and the old man who happened to be the recipient of it, with it.

image

Thank you to everyone who has supported this. You have no idea how excited this old man is and how the other would be.

Thank you for reading and for your time.

Still me,

Olawalium; (Love's chemical content in human form). Take a dose today: doctor's order.

God loves you, so do I.

Give a man a fish, he eats for a day. Teach a man how to fish, he eats for a lifetime, enlighten him further, he owns a chain of sea food restaurant. - Chinese proverb.

Sort:  

I wish to fill my life with News stories like this.
Thank you for sharing.

Super excited to hear from you...yaaaay! Thanks a lot and we won't stop till kindness is all we see all around. All thanks to God. Thank you so much. This means a lot.

Wow, this is just heart warming dear @olawalium God bless you. I am indeed happy that steemit is the reason why that man can gladly hold that pack of food items and be happy. Cheers

Thank you so much doc. Your words always mean so much to me. Thank you so much. Amen...and God bless you too. Steemit is really a great platform for great things. #promo-steem.

May you be blessed as you give back to the society, if every individual can think of the less privileged in this way, the world would have been more peaceful. Keep the good work up bro!

Thank you so much. Your kind words warm my heart. Really appreciate you. Thank you.

This post has received a 0.18 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Wow...this is so kind...its a great thing to give..steemit has helped to reach out to a lot of people.. God bless you for this

Amen and God bless you too dear. Really glad with how Steemit is helping everyone with people out there. Thank you so much my padi.

This is beautiful. I like your generousity, kudos

All thanks to God. He deserves the Glory. Thank you so much.

Wow!
I'm totally speechless.
God bless your heart. You have have the grace and resources to do more with ease.
Well done!

Steemit is really helping and blessing lives.

Thank you so much dear. You are the queen of kind heart. Taking a leaf from your book. Thanks dear

Awwn really, thank you too.☺

🤗🤗🤗

Awe.....what a heart you have @olawalium. Always looking for ways to be in service to others, and helping others to be a part of the giving. What a blessing you are. I'm so grateful to have come across your blog today. I posted a piece of my art and wrote about #randomactsofkindness today. I will be linking your post in mine! Love to you!

This is amazing and so huge. Thank you for being so amazing and setting the pace for others. I see all that you do and having you around, it changes one's thoughts to live for others. Thank you so much. Massive love to you.

You yourself are a great example. Your heart really is a big one and I'm grateful to feel all the greatness that flows through you. Constant gratitude for our connection.

Your words delight me and give me this spreading hearty smile. Thank you so much for all you do.

Likewise....and it is my pleasure!

You are soo amazing Olawale! Love uuuuuuuuuu

I love you too cutie pie. Thank you so much beautiful.

Great work dear.... Am challenged

I am glad you are. Thank you so much dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56098.81
ETH 2411.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36