Why isn't society fixing it's homeless problem

in #charity7 years ago

I will give you a little background first; I have been helping the homeless in my town for about 2 months. Just recently I heard of a whole family out on the streets and helped them get a campsite near a lake; it's rough because we can't book any long streak of time at the same campsite and we almost got left out in the dark with no place to move to today.

Fortunately we were just able to secure a disabled accessible spot for 2 (yes...two whole days before these people have to pack up and go somewhere else or live on the streets again) since the grandmother has a disability placard.

There is so much wrong with this situation.

First: How does government justify leaving a whole family out there to fend for themself? What are all our tax dollars going for if not to help these people? I'm not against work programs and it just seems there is literally NO opportunities out there! A lot of these people are able and could do things to help the city (pickup trash, report crimes, neighborhood watch, find roads that need repair, and these are just ideas off the top of my head!).

It pains me to see anyone get abandoned let alone a full friggin' family of people!

I don't have an official charity or organization...I don't know if we even WANT to be in the system like that if they're so inefficient, unhelpful and even corrupt at times (just think of how many view the entire Trump administration as corrupt and that's the highest level of government). It's no wonder we have the lowest congressional approval rating in decades they say. Government is failing us in key areas that should be the simplest problems to solve! These people just need housing, just a route to get back on their feet or an opportunity to contribute to society!

At this point this feels like a rant. And I can't close it with any nice words just that we have 2 days again. Two days before another sad shuffle around to see where these good people are just going to sleep at night and be safe and not have all their things stolen by the other poor people out there just trying to survive, yes some are criminals, but I've been meeting them and the ones I met are very nice, grateful, caring and sharing things back with me that they can for helping them.

Pay it forward my friends, pay it forward!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66