Charitable deeds, let's crowd-fund for kids in Bangladesh, fruits and snacks every week, nr. 50

in #charity6 years ago

Woo-hoo, it is a round number! And almost a year! Two weeks and I will have written a post every week for a year. All liquid SBD from this post will still go to the @SchoolForSDG4 project but the STEEM power will stay in my (@lindahas) account. If you wish to leave a bigger impact, please visit the @SchoolForSdg4 page and leave your love there!

Here is a recent post from @SchoolForSDG4

Also, I am sorry for posting a day late, I had some unexpected work that messed with my deadlines.

20180719_132218.jpg

This week there is a heatwave going through Sylhet and the temperature is around 40 degrees. I find it quite funny(still serious at the same time) that a couple of weeks ago there was a flood and now it is hot as h*ll. But we have the same thing happening where I am but at a much smaller scale. One day it is hot, the next day it is raining and windy. Also, when it is hot here, we go swimming but I am informed that it is not a popular practice on Mohammed's(@Azizbd) side.

This week the kids had guava and I must tell you, I have never seen it or tried it! Do any of you know how it tastes? Sweet? Sour? Looks like a citrus fruit! Also, the kids seem very happy about the fruit so I am guessing it is really delicious. Just look at the gif down, in the post, and you will see how eagerly they grab their individual fruits.

I love finding out new things about cultures and customs and I love learning about new food as it is one of my favorite things in the world. What can I say, I am a simple girl :D

20180719_133754.jpg

The school also had its monthly mothers meeting. As you know, it is when the moms of the kids come to the school and discuss the curriculum, the future plans, and the progress of the children. When I was little, we also had parent-teacher meetings, but these only occurred twice or three times per year. I love how involved the moms are in the school life and that is something to look up to. Especially in the world where teachers are often blamed for kids having bad behavior.

Remember, teaching manners and how to be a decent human being is a parental responsibility! The teachers at a school are responsible for educating the little ones only. And rightfully so as if the teacher would teach your kids everything, when would you get to have a bonding time with your little one? And when would your kid learn to look up to you and respect you? I think those are some things a lot of modern parents struggle with. But I can not really say that with a 100% certainty as I am no parent myself and I only come to conclusions from what I see and observe.

Those boys look like little bosses! And that is sometimes life's reality in Bangladesh. Oftentimes boys this age are the only providers of the family as they are the only men in the house. They learn to care and provide for their moms and sisters and therefore they have to grow up faster than usual. It is good to be strong. But it is also good to be weak sometimes and have someone take care of you. Especially when you are just in that transitional age.

I am sorry again for posting late. That does not happen often as I usually hold on to my schedule. The last couple of months, however, have been crazy and busy and for that, I must apologize. I try to do my best and I do the most I can. I just may not be very talkative outside, on the chats. I would encourage everybody doing their own thing and following their dreams, it takes work and patience but in the end, it will all work out if you really believe in what you are doing.

I hope the kids learn that. No dream is too big if your heart is in it. Because our only obstacles in life are us, ourselves!


All the pictures are recent and provided by @azizbd, any questions about the project can be resolved with him, he will be happy to answer any questions if you are interested to help this project and have any idea about how to make it better. Heck, he will even get up at 4 AM in the morning just to talk to somebody about ideas. Here is a link to his steemit chat: https://steemit.chat/direct/azizbd

If you would like to contribute by making a post, you can contact Mohammed ( @azizbd ) and he will provide pictures for you, anyone spreading the word is welcome. The income from the post can be sent to @schoolforsdg4, if you think you deserve any Steem for your hard work making a post, keep a dime, even a small donation from your posts means a lot to those kids.

If you have any Steem to spare, donations are welcome. @schoolforsdg4 is where you want to send them.

If you can't spare any Steem, because I know everybody has their lives to live and expenses needed to be covered, a simple upvote is very much appreciated, a resteem is encouraged. :)

Not all funds from this post will go into the school account. The SP will stay on my account so if you want to leave maximum impact, head over to @SchoolForSDG4.

Wishing you an amazing day! Today, tomorrow, and forever.
Linda

Sort:  

My very small vote is there, I hope it does at least a little something :) I have never had a guava, no, although I am a fan of the guava-flavored items I've had; although it is most likely that few of those contained any real guava. Oh well!

Close enough! :D But seriously, I probably have had some flavored drinks as well but never the fruit. I have no idea what it would taste like and that makes me curious!

Congrats for being chosen as post of the day by @steemiteducation. This is really a meaningful way of providing new experience for these kids especially if they have not tasted guava before. I stay in Singapore. We usually eat guava after cutting it in slices and some sour plum powder will be spinkled on them to enhance the taste. Great job and may all the children remember every experience they get from your initiatives.

Hmm. What does it taste like? Is it sweet or sour? Is it watery? I would love to sometimes try it myself!

Thank you! :)

It is sweet, salty and sour actually.

Now I really have to try it! :D

Glad to read about the good work you are doing. Guava is great for reducing blood sugar and it is kind of like an apple, sort of. Pulpy but not citrus like.

Is it harder than an apple? I have so many questions that can't be answered without me tasting the fruit :D

Thanks :)

Nice project - I just left my upvote there. :)

Thank you a million!

Your post has been selected as the @steemiteducation Post of the Day:)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the #steemiteducation tag in the post itself.

A huge thanks!

Congrats for having having the #steemiteducation Post of the Day. This is a great initiative!

Tweeted :)

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55528.94
ETH 2373.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36