Charitable deeds, let's crowd-fund for kids in Bangladesh, fruits and snacks every week, nr. 25

in #charity6 years ago (edited)

Hello, hello, all beautiful souls! It is Friday, the one day I try to give back to this wonderful community by investing in all of our futures. Yes, you guessed it! This is my predictable Friday post, in which I try to help the project that I am most proud of in the way that I know I can. Writing!

All proceeds from this post will go to @SchoolForSDG4, created by @azizbd, to help host a weekly fruit program and/or provide educational materials for the kids.

A recent post from @azizbd

IMG_20180125_WA0015.jpg

This weeks fruit program brought grapes to the colorful carpet in our favorite school. I love grapes, they are sweet and sometimes sour, the ones without seeds are the best though! Here you can see some green grapes, my favorite are those sweet ones or the purple ones that are even sweeter. I know, I have a sweet tooth :D. But who does not once in a while? Especially if that sweet goodness comes from a healthy fruit?


Emon and Ahadul having fun at school.

Okay, that is fun and a little creepy. For some reason, those eyes remind me of this one old movie. Where a whole town of women gets impregnated by aliens and give birth to some freaky children that move in pairs and are highly unsettling altogether. But we are not watching that scary movie now and everything is okay. Ahdul and Emon are just being kids and playing around with some eyes(I think those are bouncy balls) :D. Look, they are even in different colors!


Moriyam ,Shati , Nadiya , Ayesha Moni

A bunch of new students have joined the school and we can see that they are not used to be in pictures. I remember how, when I started with the posts for the charity, the kids always looked sad or scared in photos, but with time they got used to the camera and started smiling at us! I hope those new additions to the huge @SchoolForSDG4 family will start to feel comfortable in the group soon enough. I hope they fall in love with learning and finding out new things because if they do, we will see these same faces, but with huge smiles and, hopefully, bright futures!

20180125_153428.jpg

@Azizbd has joined to play some games with the kids in this shot. I love when we get insights into not only the school life of learning but also how the kids are having fun. They are engaged and invested in the game and through that, they not only are entertained but also acquire knowledge. Logical thinking, memory training, those are just some of the skills that kids acquire by doing real life things, like playing games and assembling puzzles. They do not have to just memorize things like for an exam. They have real experiences that the brain can easier understand and that stay in their minds much longer.

Another news is that the kids are getting their own Debit Cards. The bank is covering the expenses for the making and maintenance of those cards so the little ones families do not have to invest any money in the creation of those plastic pieces. That means that if the kids decide to have savings they can keep them in the bank instead of risking losing them to theft. I know banks are not the safest option regarding the financial systems of our world at the moment, not a lot of people trust the institutions those days but I think this is an option worth having for the kids as it is safer than hiding their money in a piggy bank, they can learn about how money works and they can save up a little.

As the school is growing, @Azizbd and some very invested steemians are looking into the future with great hope. There are talks going on about introducing a lunch program to the project that might be a little rarer than the fruit program in the beginning but hopefully will grow with time. The charity is getting bigger and bigger, I think it is one of the most successful and beautiful projects on steemit. At this point, I have no doubt that one day @Azizbd is going to be able to acquire that land and build a school for the kids, maybe even grow the student count to a hundred. Or more!

With this wonderful community, everything is possible, I have been proven that, not only through this charity but also by seeing how my own work has been recognized in this ocean of minnows, dolphins, and whales. I am so thankful for all of you, I am so happy to be here, to grow my dream and help others with their goals and hopes.


All the pictures are recent and provided by @azizbd, any questions about the project can be resolved with him, he will be happy to answer any questions if you are interested to help this project and have any idea about how to make it better. Heck, he will even get up at 4 AM in the morning just to talk to somebody about ideas. Here is a link to his steemit chat: https://steemit.chat/direct/azizbd

If you would like to contribute by making a post, you can contact Mohammed ( @azizbd ) and he will provide pictures for you, anyone spreading the word is welcome. The income from the post can be sent to @schoolforsdg4, if you think you deserve any Steem for your hard work making a post, keep a dime, even a small donation from your posts means a lot to those kids.

If you have any Steem to spare, donations are welcome. @schoolforsdg4 is where you want to send them.

If you can't spare any Steem, because I know everybody has their lives to live and expenses needed to be covered, a simple upvote is very much appreciated, a resteem is encouraged. :)

As I said, all income from this post will go towards the project, my rewards are set to 50/50 payout, but I am always able to find the SBD my posts make, so I will be able to forward all income from this post to @schoolforsdg4.

Wishing you a wonderful time, today, tomorrow and forever,
Linda

Sort:  

Thank you! :)

100% percent upvoted for your wonderful project :)

Thank you! It is really appreciated and means a lot to me as well as the little ones! :)

How much does it cost to buy the fruit each day?

They are doing the fruit program once a week at the moment and it was around 8 to 10 usd dollars for 50 children last year, so I am guessing it is a little more this year as there are more students.

The fruit program is always covered at this point, I am not the only person writing and donating to the charity on a constant basis. @Azizbd is interested in providing lunch for the kids starting February and he is going t do it once a month in the beginning, to see how the expenses stack up.

The excess fund goes into reserve for emergencies or school materials. We have a dream of buying a land and building a self-sustainable school on it but the land is expensive in Bangladesh(even though building is cheap) and that is a long term goal.

Also, there is the issue of long term stable income as donations are not always the same, people give what they can, so we are trying to help @azizbd come up with ideas.

Sorry for extra answer, I am just really in love with this project and think it could do so much for our future and development of the children, after all, they will stay here after us.

Best wishes! :)

you are very special for helping him :) I hope you get your land and your school one day. I have followed you now so I can keep uptodate with the school

Thank you!

That is great, I post for the project every Friday so that is when you can drop by because on other days I do not write any content that is related to the charity :)

Thanks a lot for caring those children and lead them into a bright future. The work @azizbd is doing for those kids are really some great work. I just came to know about this @schoolforsdg4 which let me so happy and respectful to this man.
Really loved what you guys are doing. Lots of blessings for you people and lots of love to the kids.
Thanks a lot @lindahas for your helping hand. Respect and love for you people.

Thank you for stopping by and caring! Without people like you, I could write to infinity and get nowhere. But thanks to you and others giving a damn about those kids, we are helping them every day(me, every week) and they hopefully have a brighter future in front!

Sending blessings and respect back at you! You are amazing, thank you for that!

Nice going @lindahas! And as you say; everything is possible with our community!

Good initiative and naturally supporting!

Thank you for the love! It is greatly appreciated!

Feeding the poor is very good task indeed in every religion..!!
Charity is nice thing to do for the living of poor..!!
Good work..!!
May God bless you with more to help needy people..!!

It may be the poor, but I think children in general need all the help they can get, no matter what kind of family they come from. Sometimes those richer with money run scarce on love and time for their little ones.

Thank you for the good wishes! :)

good friend continue your excellent work

Will do! Thanks :)

I would so much love to replicate this in my country, Nigeria. Hopefully i shall someday.

You just have to begin somewhere and have the willpower @azizbd has, then you shall succeed!

Awsome post. Good Job. Succes full.

i upvoted for this amazing project @lindahas!!! keep it up .

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33