The Charity Token Project | Blog #0 Introduction

in #charity6 years ago

The Intention

Over the last few months me and many many other people got excited about this new technology. Bitcoin, Ethereum, Dash and all the promising coins out there right now. Most of them joined the hype just for the money. This opportunity to make fast cash. And I am not blaming them. Everyone likes to wake up and see his coins going totally wild in price. However, there are people out there that see the actual price just as a little piece to the puzzle. People that are fascinated by the blockchain technology. People that see that the blockchain can help poor people in third world countries, which would never have a chance to receive financial freedom because of large banks, countrys and other suppressive institutions.

How did I came up with the Charity Token Project?

Two or three weeks ago I got really excited about this whole idea of smart contracts, tokens and overall building decentralized applications on top of the (ethereum) blockchain. After getting into the basics of coding in solidity and making my first apps I thought: What's next? What can I do to improve my skills on this topic?". I could build a (...nother useless) coin, setup an ICO and get away with tones of money. Sounds disgusting? Guess what, that's how most of these "revolutionary coin ideas" go. No, that'ss nothing for me. I want to have an impact and should it fail, at least I can say I tried. That's why I am writing this rightnow.

What problem needs to be solved?

Have you ever tried to donate some of your "overnight earned" coins to some charity organization? Yes? First of all, good job. The world needs people like you! But you probably discovered the same problems I had. For example, where can I find an organization that supports crypto and even more, can I trust them or are they just another scam?

How can the Charity Token Project solve this?

The idea is that you send crypto you own and want to donate (for the time being only ether) to a smart contract. The contract instantaneously forwards the eth to a trusted charity chosen by the community. It also rewards the donator with an equivalent amount of "Charity Tokens" (CYT). These tokens can then be used to vote e.g. on the next charity destination of the contract. Furthermore, they will be used to create leaderboards of "the most generous" people in the crypto-space or can be used to buy "lottery tickets" with which you can win prices from possible sponsors. The possibilities are endless here. Just have a look at my "super professional PP diagram" :-)

How can you get involved?

As I made (hopefully) clear, there will be no ICO or something similar. This is a 100% non-profit thing. However, if you like the concept behind this project, help me build a community! At the moment I am just a crypto-nerd with the intention of doing something good. But I know there are many of you that feel the same and are quite talented in what you're doing. This project needs people with a good heart and feel are excited about this new crypto movement. As you have probably already noticed, I am not an expert on writing blogs, developing, doing PR or creating images. So if you are interested, please get involved. Even if it's just in spreading the word :) Thank you!

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CharityToken
GitHub: https://github.com/licklake/Charity-Token-Project

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61232.75
ETH 2977.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60