Short Video: Upvote a tree to make it a Steem forest. Charity starts with Steem. 33 native trees planted in Peru so far.

in #charity6 years ago (edited)

 What if? You could help grow a forest. Well you can by a simple upvote. 

Today we are launching the Lobitos Steem Forest initiative.  We aim to collect 1500 worth of steem in upvotes and direct donations. As funds arrive, we will start our very own Steem forest and we will update everything with blogs/vlogs. 

I have recently taken to writing posts that will enable reforestation in Northern Peru. Upvoted posts plant trees! Today we planted one Algarrobo native tree sapling and all thanks to Steem!  

In the first step of addressing the issue of local  deforestation.  In partnership with Steem. I have started to plant native tree saplings around where I live. I have been able to do this  with your simple upvotes. Simple.


(Gif animation belongs to @artwatch and was used with permission)


If you liked this video, please also resteem to all your friends and spread the word. 

We have raised a total so far of: 

Steem-  40
SBD-      99.276
 

Outcomes to date:


  • 33 native trees planted 
  • One local has so far joined the tree planting part of this project. 
  • 480 Peru Soles donated to EcoSwell not for profit: forwarded to their reforestation program.
  • 57.9975 SBD and 11 Steem held in savings until price goes and helps for accounting (check my wallet)
  • Creation of carbon offset directly derived for all Steem activities (takes a lot of energy to propel Steem). 
  • Building a socio-enviromental aware community platform on Steemit.     

I donate 100% of the SBD earned on the reforestation posts (like this one) to the Steem forest project fund in partnership with Ecoswell. This not for profit has a reforestation  program in which they have small garden nurseries in the village. I get lots of tree saplings to plant myself from this not for profit. This on behalf of all you upvoters. If there is any change to this format,   as they might as this grows, I will inform everyone with a blog post on Steemit. 

My most recent posts that  includes a written description, photos and personal comment feedback: 


Video: Upvote a tree- Charity starts with Steemit. Your upvote will plant trees in Peru. 32 planted to date

My first ever post about this: I won some steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it.  

Upvote a tree was a seed planted in @jaybird 's Steemit Sandwich Contest 

If you would like to read my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer

Sort:  

Ah, I love this project. Check your wallet as I just sent some STEEM to help you reach your goal.

Oh bru, this is amazing! Thank you ever so much for your amazing contribution to the cause of the steem forest. I can get the ball properly rolling now and I am on the case. More posts coming up about it :)

Again, thank you so much for your ongoing support.

@intrepidsurfer

It's my pleasure to help contribute to such an amazing project. Maybe someday I'll give to visit that surf break in Peru and see these trees growing strong.

I still have to say thank you again. I will be updating loads on this project. There will be plenty to present as the project is implemented. The native trees are the hardiest and most suited. The plan is to get each planted tree to settle properly with the right conditions (drip feed irrigation system) for a good six months. Then these trees are in for the long haul, and will grow year in and year out. Then replicate.

I love the slow, steady approach and your comment about learning to crawl before you can walk/run. Sustainability really is about long-term thinking and long-term progress. I look forward to seeing the results. :)

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Awesome project man. Btw, are you on Steemit chat? I might be able to mediate some help for your great efforts.

Afternoon @phortun , how are you? . I am just back from the market and about to bake a ton of bread. I am on steemit chat and under the same handle here. I am really intrigued now :)

@intrepidsurfer

This post has received a 35.46% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @intrepidsurfer. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Great project! Happy to upvote. :)

thank you @phoenixwren for your support and more trees on the way.

That's a huge land for planting trees , soon once those trees are all grown up, the place and the views will be more amazing. Glad that a local tie up organization supports your project. Congrats!

Thank you @puroypoi for your kind words. Yes it is quite a decent size to plant on, but it is next to the not for profit office. Easier to manage and monitor.

thank you for your ongoing support.

wonderful initiative @intrepidsurfer

an idea just came to mind ~ steemians could sponsor a tree ~ pay a small monthly fee that could cover its care or planting more trees

competitions are really popular right now too ~ guessing competition ~ how many trees did we plant this week? 🦋

Hey @allyinspirit thank you for the compliment and I like your ideas. I have been toying with doing a contest type post, but I am not 110% sure of which type. I like the idea of tree sponsorship. One of the outcomes of doing this first steem forest, will be to see the costs and logistics necessary. Once these are know, it can be replicated.

Thank you for your support to make our steem forest in Peru.

@intrepidsurfer

Pleasure. Art and photography contests are also extremely popular.

TreeTuesday is already well established so it would need to have another element/twist. If I think of anything I'll let you know. 🦋

Idea for contests: Creatures and ecology that trees support.

There is a landscape contest but there aren't any contests that specifically incorporates land care or caring for the environment ~ Which could be as simple as someone bringing back rubbish from a local creek or sharing their backyard garden ~ Vegies and flowers, to make it as broad as possible.

There aren't any contests, that I've seen specifically for insects either: Which would include butterflies, dragonflies, beetles, spiders etc. 🦋

nice post @intrepidsurfer

Awesome project! My upvote is not worth a lot, BUT at least I try to help! Wish you the best


Join me on Gaïa 🌍 Let's make our planet a better place to live

thank you @folken for your support. This is a community driven effort and all upvotes lead to the same steem forest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70568.35
ETH 3813.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50