Care Package 5.0: What I Plan to Do With All Those Lithium Batteries

in #charity6 years ago (edited)


source

So I've been thinking about what to do with the revived 18650 lithium batteries. I have six of those, plus one that came with a fan that I have since replaced with a higher capacity cell. That's seven lithium batteries I need to find a purpose for.

I don't want to put them all together in a power bank because they are degraded to different extents. Some measure 4.18 volts when full, others 4.15, and so on. It's bad to put them in parallel (as in a power bank ) because when it's fully depleted, the safety circuitry stops it at an average voltage for all 4 cells (or however many).

This means if one is lower voltage than the rest, it will get over-discharged every time. Conversely if one is higher voltage than the rest, it will get over-charged during every charging cycle. Cells used in power banks should be brand new and identical voltage.

However, nothing stops me from using them in devices that take a single cell. like these wonderful lanterns I discovered while browsing Amazon:


source

As you can see, each lantern is powered by a single 18650 cell. This eliminates the charge balancing problems discussed above. It also means these little lanterns are quite powerful for their size and will run for a long time on a charge. More importantly though, it doubles as a power bank itself!

That's right, you can plug a usb cable into the lantern and use some of the energy to charge a phone or whatever else you have that can charge from USB. This is really crucial because of how many employers only accept online applications these days.


source

Of course charging a phone will deplete the entire cell. I think these are like 2,200mah so it'll charge a typical modern smartphone maybe once. Or not even that, up to like 90% from zero. Still, that's quite useful, especially when you consider that it has a solar panel on it:


source

Now of course, that's a pitifully tiny panel. Probably it won't charge fully even after an entire day in the sun. But it's something. It's a free source of energy they can use to keep their most important possession running. Without a phone, escaping homelessness is all but impossible.

Besides hanging it in their tents as a light source at night, it can also be held horizontally and used as a flashlight. If solar charging doesn't cut it, the unit can be USB charged though a micro USB port, same as most modern phones. It can then be used as a backup energy reservoir that will make them less dependent on public outlets.


source

Crucially for such a wet, rainy state like Oregon, it's water resistant as well. Can't allow a shorted out battery to burn their tent down or something dreadful like that. It's not rainy at the moment with Summer approaching, but then what better time to hand out a solar powered device?

It's just one item. Care Package 2.0, 3.0 and 4.0 were much larger with ten or so items inside, but I'm struggling financially at the moment. A lot of my whales have either forgotten I exist or unfollowed me for some reason. I used to be doing 30-50 SBD per post pretty reliably a few months back. Now I just barely subsist on ~5 SBD/post, about 4 of which comes from me.

But like I've said before, that's no excuse to sit by and do nothing. There are people out there who have less than I do, and who are struggling just to put food in their stomachs. If I say "I don't have enough for myself, so I won't give", where does it stop? No matter how much someone has, won't they always think "I will start giving when I have just a little bit more for myself"?

Besides, this item is like several gifts combined into one. A flashlight, a lantern and a solar powered battery bank for charging phones. It's got all the right features to be helpful, especially at this sunny time of year. I can only give oout 7 because that's how many cells I have, but 7 of these lanterns will cost about $91.

I am unsure where that money is going to come from at present. There's still a lot of stuff I need to pay for just to stay in this house, like a lawn mower (My landlady gets calls from the city if I let the grass go for too long). My car insurance auto-deduction is coming up, and there's student loans to pay down as well.

I'm going to keep at this no matter what, but your support would be dearly appreciated. If you don't have me on auto-upvote, please consider it, as it's not just me you'll be helping out.


Stay Cozy

Sort:  

@alexbeyman,
My knowledge of electrical and electronic is near to NADA! But now I can learn something from these articles! Thank you bro! Recycling sources using as a charity is a great idea indeed!

Cheers~

Tried to help people with care packages and suddenly got a contract to advertise the electronic lantern lmao.

I wish. Maybe I could get them for free then.

I saw a lot of steemers are networking hard and some of them probably have got a couple good deals, ready to drive their new cars heh.

It's bad to put them in parallel (as in a power bank ) because when it's fully depleted, the safety circuitry stops it at an average voltage for all 4 cells
I am not that much of an electric Man but it seems the energy of all the batteries is not used to fullest, so use them individually instead, the above said lamp is really the best thing you can make using this battery.

Yeah, at first I was just going to put them in a single cell power bank kit. But then I thought they would like to have light too, and went looking for 18650 based flashlights you can charge a phone with. But then I thought, "where will they get electricity for this?" and found these solar lanterns that seemed to solve all those problems.

Man its pretty amazing

But like I've said before, that's no excuse to sit by and do nothing. There are people out there who have less than I do, and who are struggling just to put food in their stomachs. If I say "I don't have enough for myself, so I won't give", where does it stop? No matter how much someone has, won't they always think "I will start giving when I have just a little bit more for myself"?

Wow. Though my upvotes dnt count much, surely I'll also lend my support to this beautiful initiative.

This is a great one indeed my friend.

I hope people with goodwill join this beautiful train

Uhm, nice project, you should engaged more in power bank but I do think you actually hardly power failure over there compare to Africa here, you should consider getting some power bank over here to sell.

Crucially for such a wet, rainy state like Oregon, it's water resistant as well.

Brilliant work from you, I could think individuals person like yourself could alone brought some of such into existence.

None of this product won't make more sell I tell you, just transport here in Nigeria and you will make more money.

Though my voting doesn't count for much, I'll always upvotee you whenever I come across your posts @alexbeyman. It's wonderful what you're doing trying to give back.

Am surprised your whales no longer pay attention, your posts are terrific. Am sure it's just a matter of time before you start getting the earnings you deserve

You're doing some wonderful work my friend.
I wish you luck and success and some whale follows :)

All advantages come with disadvantages

Wow. For charity, I'm IN. I support you my friend.

For a good cause, no matter how small, its priceless.

Upvoted.

I bought two of those lithium ion batteries for my Vape & they are surprisingly expensive but for good reason.

I love & support the charity initiative. I wish you all the best in luck. The world needs more people like you.

Yeah, they are extraordinarily energy dense for their weight. Which makes them ideal for this application. Someone without shelter won't have frequent access to electricity, and cannot buy disposable batteries all the time. They need something that lasts a long time on one charge and can be replenished for free.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97