The Making Of The Fierce Succulent

doodletrends fierce succulent 5.png
This is a new character I designed in 15 minutes. I call him Draceno

Process Photos

doodletrends fierce succulent 1.png
1.) The idea is make a succulent character and it should look deadly. I scribbled a few leaves darting upwards. I think that would make the character look fierce. Teal is my color of choice for me it will give the character that alien look.
doodletrends fierce succulent 2.png
2.) Trying to work on the background color right away as I am intending to use a bright red color as highlights on the leaves. This background is not working for me. I can get stuck here forever but I must go on as I am working on a tight 15 minute deadline.
doodletrends fierce succulent 3.png
3.) I got nothing much to show aside from the varying shades of teal to give depth. At this point I am thinking I should make a bug with succulent head. Thank goodness that helped me a lot in defining my character and get me moving.
doodletrends fierce succulent 4.png
4.) When I added that yellowish highlight on the face, it was easier then for me to create the mouth. Few minutes ago I did not know what kind of mouth and should I put eyes? what kind? I decided the mouth is enough and not to add eyes. I am glad that idea worked. I got too busy adding the fine lines and veining plus the red highlights sorry I was not able to take a photo of the phase.
doodletrends fierce succulent 5.png
5.) The background I chose is inspired by a terracotta pot now that my character looks like a plant. I love it.

Hope you like it
@steempampanga

Don't forget to join the doodletrends drawing contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63624.94
ETH 3481.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54