You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living on a Boat for Two Years Shaped My Life

in #character8 years ago

I know personally, how finances can limit your opportunities for personal growth. It seems backwards to say this, but I've grown more character by training my mind to find gratitude in the worst situations. In 2005, my wife left me because I wasn't ready to raise children. She moved out and took the brand new pickup truck with her. Eventually, I convinced myself that I was going to take advantage of making my own decisions from that point onward. For one, I wasn't going to contribute to the destruction of our clean air by buying another automobile. Honestly, I'm glad that I haven't even had the extra money to spend on that kind of comfort. When I want to go somewhere, I ride one of my bikes. The only fuel necessary, might be a stir fry or a sandwich. Eugene, Oregon is a very friendly city for bicycles.

It's a university town, however, so be sure to follow the politically correct guidelines or you will be shamed out of town. Friendly is not a word that I would use to describe Eugene. It's kind of a white people getto, where they drink for 6 months of the year while it rains. Might be fun the first year, but I'm done with Oregon winters. I need to see a shadow, at least once a month!

Don't get me started with Portland. It's a pretentious place where hipsters talk down to everyone. Egomaniacs.

There were no jobs in Portland in 2008, I didn't give up until 2010 when I moved back to Eugene. The only good thing that came out of that experiment, was that I learned how to hustle web design for a living. Eventually, I would find that I could work from any country that had a hostel with WiFi (Thailand, Cambodia and Costa Rica).

To this day, I still think that money leads to comforts that block your opportunities for growth. Although I miss being able to ride my bike into the Three Sisters Wilderness, I feel grateful that I was able to walk away from my rental in Oregon so that I could be available to support my parents and sister, here in Tennessee. So far, I'd say it's a friendly state.

Sort:  

So far, I'd say it's a friendly state.

Glad to hear you say that. I think so too, and I'm glad you're here.

I still think that money leads to comforts that block your opportunities for growth.

Do you think it might be possible your negative experiences with money have clouded your perspective of it? Money can block opportunities for growth, but it doesn't have to. I could also argue money allows for things like travel, investing in new opportunities, new experiences, etc. It's just a tool which amplifies what is inside us.

Yes. After spending a decade in the "Anarchist Capital" you get the general feeling that it's not welcome to share information when working in marketing/advertising. Like I said, Eugene is not a friendly place. People who start businesses and employ others are seen as "The Man". Even the largest craft brewer in Oregon is targeted for it's success. I think some industries should be questioned, in regard to their overall impact on the environment. I know that my next car will be an electric vehicle. It's an embarrassment -what the oil pipeline is doing to the native Americans- who are just trying to protect their lands. Attack dogs were not necessary, they were here long before Europe invaded.

Yeah, I was living under the grey, cloudy skies for too long. I might be recovering from the negativity of Eugene. I have to admit, I love to travel. I can't wait to go back to Thailand this winter, and meet my friend in Varanasi, India. His family is going to show us around.

There's nothing wrong with making money, it's how you spend it. I like spreading it around different countries.

Who came up with calling Eugene the "Anarchist Capital"? A capital is State entity. Anarchism means without rulers. That's a silly contradiction, IMO. Whoever you were hanging out with, they sound like a-holes, not the non-aggression principle anarchists I've come to know.

There's nothing wrong with making money, it's how you spend it. I like spreading it around different countries.

Well said. I hope you have an amazing trip to Thailand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68515.51
ETH 3777.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65