KIA Speaks and the KIA Egregore...

in #chaos-magic7 years ago

kaytee.jpg
Kaytee, the KIA troll. Second of the egregore dolls.

I've mentioned the ChaosHEX and EnigMagick magical software I have written. My last work is not open source as yet as it is tightly coupled with my website. I do want to improve it at some point to be able to share the technology, but at the moment it is pretty much a nasty hack looking at comments on a hard coded post id. Still it does the job!

The KIA Egregore

The KIA Egregore has emerged and evolved over the past seventeen years after being born in the Birth Rite of Febuary 2001. Magicians around the world reported taking part. I was in a group of five magicians located in Norwich UK. Together we constructed the first of three KIA egregore dolls I know about. There could be others.

KIA Speaks

As people joined KIA, they provided three sentences for the Egregore. These were put into a text file and some script would pull out five random sentences to make a paragraph. This paragraph was used as a kind of quick divination and communication from the egregore. The results were surprising appropriate most of the time.

The text file quickly became hard to manage, so I got a website that supported asp and access. For a while this worked until the introduction of some Microsoft upgrade. For a while only the old version on the free site worked. Eventually this too went down and our egregore was silenced. Some time passed and eventually @dana-varahi prompted me to rewrite it. So I did. As a wordpress plugin.

I managed to find a lot of the original sentences preserved in the internet archive. I found a few others on old printouts. Current magical agents added new ones. KIA has her voice back.

Message for magical steemians

As a demonstration I asked her for a message to pass on to my readers:

KIASpeaks-Steem.png

Any questions? Or is that self evident. I know what it means to me...

API

It may not be 'open source' but there is an API. Well, calling it an API is probably a little generous. What I mean is, there is a php script that when called returns five of the sentences in a text file. This is to make it easy for other magicians to write software that can include a message from the KIA egregore in it. Each download the text file has a different five sentences in it. I have in fact used it myself. I intend to add support for it to ChaosHEX.

References:

Sort:  

lol I already follow you on steemit but I fell down a weird chaos magic internet hole and wound up here from

Nice. I've been away from steemit for a while, so i didn't see your comment in time to upvote. DKMU stuff is pretty interesting. We've got some good results from incorporating it into our practises. Particularly the godform cycle. Although just working with the linking sigil also gave some of our magical projects a boost.

That's cool! I was thinking of linking the sigil to a project of my own, so it's cool to hear it was helpful for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77