You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you like change? I don't!

in #change6 years ago

I'm a bit of a risk-taker, and I think that's why I enjoy certain types of change, and even encourage it sometimes. For example, when I was made redundant from my job 8 years ago I was overjoyed, because I'd been bullied in an attempt to force me to do the job for less pay, and the situation had become unbearable. I'd been planning a new business for over a year, and just needed the redundancy offer. The business only lasted five years, and it's been a tough road, but I've gained much better work/life balance, and more long-term (but not short-term) financial security.
Sudden change can be terrible, like a hillwalking accident I had last year, where I lost five teeth. That's probably the biggest change I've faced recently. But change can also be like a kick in the butt to shift you into a more wholesome way of life.
I suppose the advice I'd give is to be calm and try to laugh your way through the change. When I was being bullied at work, I started going to Buddhist meditation group at lunchtime as it made me feel calm and put everything into perspective.

Sort:  

Different people feel differently about change. Some love it and some hate it. I am glad that you looked at your situation positively. When I look back after experiecncing change I can almost always see the benefit. It is when I am in the moment that I struggle the most. Thanks for adding to the conversation.

That's a very good point. Change can be awful when you're in the middle of it, but when you look back with a calm head you see what the learnings were.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58