You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Admit Wrong, then Imagine Better

in #change8 years ago

Your post has actually inspired a post that I'm currently working on. I'll be sure to shout you out :)

I rarely say that I'm right or wrong, but rather give a silent nod of quiet acceptance or admit I'd made a mistake. Po-tay-to/Po-tah-to, perhaps?

In my opinion, to say "I'm right" seems narcissistic and to say "You're wrong" seems supercilious. I've made tons of mistakes in my life. Was I wrong in making them? No. I don't think so. But in hindsight, I have the capacity to reflect on some of those repeated patterns and decide to stay on the hamster wheel or make changes.

ps - I saw this last night but needed a fresh brain to appreciate it. :)

Sort:  

Thanks for apprecaiting the content.

As I saw, the aversion to stating the truth that "I am right" is rooted in psychological ego-"I"-self issues, afraid of how people will perceive you, etc., and so too is the opposite and aversion to stating and admitting "I am wrong". When something is wrong, it's wrong. When something is right, it's right. There are nuances, like something Y can be more right compared to X. Something Y can be less right compared to X. Something Y can be more wrong compared to X. Something Y can be less wrong compared to X. But in either case, the willingness to admit wrong is simply to face reality honestly and accept the comparable degrees of alignment with new information. Denial of recognition to new information, admitting incorrectness, misunderstanding, and being wrong, is ultimately not "healthy" for personal development and evolution in consciousness towards truth.

Own up to the responsibility in life: Be right, or go wrong. Truth or consequence.

Take care. Peace.

When I was younger, I was always worried about how people perceived me because no matter what I did, I still felt like an alien among people. I was assessed with Asperger's as an adult. As I got older, my filter got a lot smaller because I've come to realize that I might as well be true to myself because they're not living my life or in my skin so why should I care of people's perception of me?
I also know that I live in a world of truths and accept the consequences of my actions. I own every single one. Heck, I dedicate most of my white hairs to the consequences of my "mistakes" - at least 4 of those white hairs belong to my ex and my three boys. LOL Anyway, from taking ownership, I try to use them as lessons for the next decision. As an example: After my divorce I took 3 years to assess the "X" and what behaviors led me to that decision. Then considered what was or was not acceptable to stay true to who I am. Then I choose "Y" the next time and have been happily married since.

In the recesses of my thinking, I honestly consider everything I do wrong...until it looks like it's right. But I keep that voice tucked away or I'd be a useless, depressed bag of bones most of the time. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61615.30
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60