Im having a deja vu of ticky tacky little houses

in #change6 years ago (edited)

Did you ever watch the serie 'Weeds'? Sometimes I feel now I landed right in the middle of this Netflix-cracker at the moment.


Image

Let me explain to you why, and please watch the damn serie. You won't regret it!

In Weeds the main character Nancy is a fresh widow who really wants to maintain her luxury lifestyle by dealing weed in the neighborhood. In this neighborhood everybody knows everything from each other and gossips about it. Everything looks the same and everybody acts in line (but secretly they all have weird stuff going on ofcourse)

But why am I feeling that I was dropped in this series all of a sudden?


Image

Because I am coming from the totally NON structured island of Sint Martin all of a sudden back in civilization. And I guess I have forgotten in some kind of ways how that was like after all those years. See, for me it is normal that half of the houses have a roof with a tarpaulin, half of the people do not have insurance, and the other half of the people do not have residencies (you know Im exaggerating right, please realize that!!), and all their money was spent on carnival and nobody is thinking ahead more than 1 day. Policitians who were elected just two months ago are now in jail for money laundering and tax fraud.

From that....to this

I realized it when I was walking the dog today and being outside here in Holland. Every house, and I mean literally every house that I passed was well maintained. Yards were spotless, people were picking up the poo of their dog to neatly dispose it in wastebaskets. Nobody is speeding their car, people talk about the cheapest and best house insurance. I am a little bit flabbergasted about all of this.

Was this always the deal, or am I just seeing it now because of the contrast? Or because I am watching 'Weeds'at the moment that I am more aware of it. Or was I living in such an anarchy before that I have forgotten what is normal.


Image

And then still...what is normal?? To me??

I really dont know, Ive seen so much difference of culture in the last couple months that I have to define my own sense of normal again I guess.

But until then... Let me continue in Weeds, I have 6 seasons left :)

This post was made on masdacs which allows you to crosspost on Steemit, the Whaleshares page and Golos. With only one button click posting on three pages at the same time. Cool right??

Sort:  

I absolutely love the serie.. but unfortunately we're almost done.. we did a lot of binge watching since I discovered the series :)
But I know that this was not the case where we lived before leaving Holland. I actually find the buildings in Budapest way more impressive :) But I can see where you're coming from (St Maarten) that the contrast is a "little" big (lol) bigger :)

I am in a very regulated village at the moment. City is different! But where I am here is a bit ticky tacky..

Especially from my old perspective of utter chaos :D

Ahh haha the culture crash back in the matrix @karinxxl! Enjoy it and all contrast creates a beautiful perspective doesn't it? We loved binge watching Nancy Botwin btw, def a fav in our home.

The Botwin family is truly something else ;)

Yeah culture shocks all over these days haha
So many things I have forgotten over the years!

So many things I don't wish to re-member lol! :)

It would be difficult to adjust from hurricanes and regular fires to these not happening at all. But, you will ... It takes times... Welcome !!! :)

Hehe thx! Back in civilisation! Indeed who can one get NOT used to those things :)

a very warm welcome back (for a while)here in holland
still have to watch weeds , but for now i am busy with 15 other series, so in time i will do
from your island of being free to here is like stepping into another world, i had it for being only 6 weeks in Costa Rica so for you it must be a world up-side down
when you going to switserland

Haha you know it right!!

It is really stepping into another world for a bit at the moment. And I feel like a 70 years old that missed all the new features around town.

'afspraak maken online? dan bel je toch of ga je langs'
'contactloos betalen??'

Ik lig hopeloos achter

Ha, I love that theme song of Weeds... (and the series too, obviously), and yes, I do get why you would feel that way.
Best way to deal with that creepy feeling, is just sing that song as loud as you can. Or at least, that's how I deal with it.

little boxes, on the hillside, little boxes made of... etc

hahahah I had it in my head the whole time I was walking the (borrowed) dog.

Borrowing a dog as an excuse to walk more might even be weird already right? :D

This is alllllll adjustment ej :)

I'm sure this is the contrast. But here in the Netherlands, it is not as neat as you have described, but it is certainly different than Sint Maarten.

Well were I was walking today it was so neat, or maybe in my head :D
Maybe it it just the contrast that exaggerates it extra much, it is different.

Not in a bad way different, just....different!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62