Some 100 days from now

in #change6 years ago

Dreams are passive. You do nothing to make them a reality, just close your eyes and imagine your dreams come true, without any effort from your side.

I quit dreaming.

Goals are rare and exciting. In a 90 minute game, you'll witness between 0 to 6 goals approximately. The struggle to achieve them, and the rarity of their occurrence is what makes them so thrilling.

So setting goals is important, but to reach them one needs to define the game, set the rules, and so on.

There for, starting today, I will be taking the 100 days of code challenge. This is actually the second time I'm taking this challenge, but I failed the first time. #TBA


This dog is not mine. Click and go to the café where this photo was taken
When ever you see a picture of legs and shoes, know that the person sharing it - is ready to take the first step towards change. This will not always be apparent. The decision could be hidden in a sub-consciousness level.
8 years ago I sat for coffee with a friend - Roy Povarchik. At that time, I was married, had a cozy corporate job in a cubicle which I hated. I told Roy I don't want to spend the rest of my life suffering under the neon light. I want to travel, to write, to make art, to meet new people, to be in a constant change, always evolving and exploring. I remember the words coming out of my mouth, they sounded like a blurry filtered romantic dream. Being the professional-growth-expert-startup-advisor that he is, I think Roy didn't take me seriously back then; Perhaps, I didn't either.

This week a colleague asked me, how did I get here.
Here - meaning - writing and studying from a cafe in a foreign city, planning my next step (spoiler: Adriatic sea coast line).

I started thinking about all the things I let go, intentionally and unintentionally, in the past 8 years:

  • Most of my clothes I threw away and gave to friends. The few possessions that I hold dear: a small vinyl collection and some vintage furniture, are kept in storage.
  • I left the heterosexual normative relationship, that placed me in a bogged down position; at the same time, I woke up from false dreams of a partner, who'm I expected to "complete" me with the attributes I felt lack there of.
  • I quit trying to meet society's expectations of me. Remind me to tell you about some of my best failures.
(Unsupported https://giphy.com/embed/oysDdyCk9TbJNUG6TN)

via GIPHY

I don't know what's the right way:
Do what you love or love what you do.

The conclusion to be made is that there's no distinguish any more.
Studying a new profession is fun; Writing is a hobby but also a mean for provision; work and leisure mix together. My time management today, is in a totally different structure than ever before.

In Hebrew language, the words "freedom" and "vacation" come from the same meaning base. I'm not on vacation.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://thisisjourney24.com/2018/08/04/some-100-days-from-now/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36