Reflecting on #Challenge30Days here on Steemit so far

in #challenge30days7 years ago

This is a raw reflection of the #Challenge30Days here on Steemit - no pictures (except the below one so that I'm not posting something on this platform without a picture!), no real editing, no pizzaz, just working to get the information out onto this post.

IMG_0072.JPG

PS this was from day one of work a few months back

On writing erry'day

Essentially, I've found that it's harder to write every day than one might expect (surprise!) and lately, life has been on the light side so I've actually had time (but not necessarily the energy) to invest in this challenge. As I said in my intro post to the challenge, it's a joy for me to engage in the writing process on a daily basis, but it isn't always straightforward to make the time for something even if it's something you enjoy.

For instance, there may be times on the weekends when you're just relaxing, and your activities blend into each other based on what you feel like doing -- hanging out with friends, snacking, working out, walking around (I live in San Francisco, so this is actually pretty fun to do). Before you know it, the evening has arrived, and you haven't written anything, and you feel more like floating around rather than forcing yourself to do something -- again, even if it's something you want to do, if the momentum just isn't there to do it, you probably won't do it. Consequently, carving out time to get the goals done -- whether writing or something else -- has become very important. That means setting a time, or simply a time of day, to complete the work. Even visualizing where the sun is in the sky can be helpful when you're determining when and where to do your work.

Steemit vs. Posting Elsewhere

The other thing that's getting in the way is that I also have set different goals here on Steemit vs. LinkedIn (where I'm cross-posting the articles). Whereas on LinkedIn I've committed to myself to post only on weekdays, I'm supposedly posting here on Steemit every day for the month of January. I'll just have to reconcile the goals accordingly and carve out time for these more informal, less edited reflections on the weekends. These posts will be more like diary entries rather than full on, high octane reflections with lessons learned, takeaways, big ideas, etc.

Steemit Reflections

As I've been scouting Steemit, the level of quality among posts is very variable. It's mildly irritating that some people just throw content up here just for the sake of it; it sort of clogs the airways of Steemit and makes it difficult to find high quality stuff. Even stuff that's pretty highly upvoted can be mediocre simply because the person who wrote it has high power. To add to that, there is less of an incentive to be discerning with curation because people want to be as nice as they look to make money here. I'm going to keep my opinions fluid since I've only been on this platform for a few weeks, but these are just the things I'm noticing for now.

Anyway, I'm still enjoying writing with regularity, and I am enjoying the connections I'm getting to make on this platform. Pretty soon, I may decide to vlog on Dtube. We'll see :) For now, bedtime!

Sort:  

Yes, I agree the quality is very variable. But there is only one constructive way to counter that... to add more value ourselves. Keep it going!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64