You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TV - Programming - A Brutal Weapon

in #challenge30days7 years ago (edited)

I agree largely, even wrote a post:
https://steemit.com/economy/@the-traveller/trendlines-over-headlines-why-the-world-is-doing-much-better-than-you-probably-think

The TV industry is not made to inform but to grab attention, mainly to refocus that attention to ads. That sums up its whole purpose.
HOWEVER:
That was the first version, it is like aspirin compared to the attention industry on the internet which is more like oxycodone.

You have to be conscious of how TV was overtly present and easier to identify as a time waster.
Our digital devices are much more insidious in claiming our attention:
try installing rescue time to track how much time you spend, and most importantly what you spend your time on when you are online. It might surprise you https://www.rescuetime.com/

I think digital addiction is one of the most underestimated health hazards out there Simon Sinek says it well starts to take about the digital aspects @2:31

Sort:  

Thanks for your thoughts, my friend. I have responded in the original post you referred to. 😎

PS:// I can easily survive without internet/computer. I may not be Steeming - but heck - I have wall full of books I haven't even read yet.

Good on ya!
I just wanted to mention this because you see this with some people who proudly declare that they are no longer a "slave" to the TV but in the next breath are able to tell you every plot twist of the next zombie apocalypse series...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55326.60
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32