Mining Gridcoins in standalone mode

Hi everyone,

With the GRCs that I bought on the BitShares marketplace, I decided to put my machines solo mining on three research projects: World Community Grid, theSkyNet POGS and PrimeGrid.

As before I used the GRCpool to get statistics about my account, can somebody help me to understand how you can get such data when you are mining alone? Until now, I was looking on monitoring the total magnitude, the daily estimated GRCs, magnitude by project for each machine...

By the way, as expected, my wallet status changed from Investor to Boinc Mining, and it is indicating that my Coin Weight is 955, estimating that I will generate a first block in approximately 9 days. Cool!

0.png



This article is my "Day 16" entry to the #challenge30days challenge, initiated by @alexvan in his effort to help the development of the Steemit community, encouraging users to publish articles for 30 consecutive days.


Sort:  

Estimates will change when total net weight changes, so don't rely too much on that number -> more people staking, longer waiting times, vice versa.

Averaging those estimates between high and low net weight seems to be reliable thus far. I've changed to solo for a week now and it's minus 7 days to estimated minimum and max values from a week ago.

Also: "getmininginfo" is your friend in console.

With regards.

judging by the screenshot - block the wallet, then unlock, but the mark "only for steakings" do not remove

I've been solo mining for about 3 months. I've got about 3k coins. Even though it says that I will stake every 2-3 days, I've never received a payout.

The most common problems:

  • check that your wallet is synchronized
  • check the output of execute beaconstatus if it says success
    If you have problems in any, please proceed to our slack or irc channels.

Thanks for this, I did an execute and it failed, I checked the config file in appdata and there wasn't any public nor private key in there, I found a back up config with keys in and executed again: succes.. yay!

Could it be that the setup was not done properly? It is very strange to mine for 3 months with a balance of 3k GRC and not to receive anything

sign up for https://kiwiirc.com , then after advertising a beacon on the site by your site loginhttps://kiwiirc.com , on the site https://gridcoinstats.eu/stats.php you can see your statistics. It is very important - when you start your wallet for the first time, you must enter an email address by which you registered for https://kiwiirc.com

This is wrong.

This is incorrect.

Flaged due to misinformation

How long is the wallet open each day? I have mine opened for about 18h per day and I'm stacking at least each second week with 2.5k GRC.

I was sceptical a couple days ago when we briefly discussed this, but I've since staked (twice!) with ~1.2-1.5k GRC. So we learn:

  • The staking rate has a large random component
  • One appears to be able to stake with ~1k GRC in a semi-reliable fashion within the six month window that @dutch was concerned about in his excellent post on the topic of staking rates.
    I'm trying to think up a way to survey staking rates for people with wallets in the, say, 500-3k GRC range since V8 came out.

The wallet should be open until at least 900 blocks pass, forgive me through the translator

The more you leave it open (and unlocked) the better. The 900 blocks is not needed. Ideally you should keep it open 24/7, but 18 hours is good too.
Make sure it has green up-arrow.

Right, cause yesterday my wallet was only open for about 10h and I still stacked.
This time 5 days since last stack with 3k GRC and a mag ~ 100.

No way that in this time 900 blocks passed through - if you look at the block-explorer from gridcoinstats you see that each block needs ~1-3 minutes ... 900 blocks would mean 15-45 hours.

Block opened wallet:
1082418
Block stacked:
1082821

Average time between two blocks is 90 seconds (also called block time target). Network tries to maintain 960 blocks per day and was recently very close to this number. So 900 blocks is 22 hours and a half.

There is no good and bad uptime. It is proportional and random. If you stake only 12 hours per day, you have half the chance to stake then you would have staking 24 hours.

enough and 100 coins, the main thing that would be the magnitude was high

I have ~2K GRC. My expected time to reward varies from 6 days to 3 days and back. Then, Surprise! You earned some coins! It's definitely stochastic.

Grid coin??
What is grid coin???

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 58.0% @davidding upgoat, thanks to @steemmillionaire
It consists of $3.95 vote and $1.32 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 63252.28
ETH 3044.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52