Cool graffiti for a social cause in Bucharest, on Arthur Verona street

in #challenge30days7 years ago

You realise how being on Steemit starts to shape the way you look at the world when on the way to meeting a friend you stop and look around for cool things so you can take pictures and share them later with your fellow Steemians.

I've just realised this today, when I left earlier for the meeting with my friend, because I wanted to have time to wander around a bit and take some cool photos for you.

When I left home, I had in mind to show you the beautiful tea-house where I was going. But on the way there, I paid attention to what was around me and I suddenly saw these graffitis.

I felt like it was screaming:

"Pick me, choose me, forget about the tea house, Steemit will like us more!" :)

So I stopped and took a few pictures.

This is the first one that drew my attention:

FullSizeRender 17.jpg

Translated:

"I felt nothing".

So I became curious. What does it mean?

Next to this one, there was this other one, all text, from where I started to understand what this project is about: IMG_2527.JPG

Let me translate it for you:

"This "Safe Space" graffiti is part of the "In a Relationship" project, a research made for and together with teens about their first relationships. This is a project of the Friends for Friends Foundation, part of the Respect Campaign, an Avon initiative against domestic violence."

So this is part of CSR campaign to help raise awareness and prevent domestic violence. I don't have any stats at hand, but I know that violence in families is still a big issue in Romania.

This is one of the hidden, dark sides of our culture, that need to be taken outside, into the light so we can start healing them.

Here are the other parts of the graffiti, fortunately the rest of the text is in English :)

IMG_2528.JPG

IMG_2529.JPG

And another one:

IMG_2530.JPG

IMG_2532.JPG

IMG_2534.JPG

IMG_2535.JPG

I don't have any other details about this project, but I am grateful we have initiatives like this one that are expressed in such creative and colourful ways.

And I'm grateful I stopped by to take a closer look and understand the story behind the drawings: domestic violence, a sad but true situation that needs healing.

So that was it for today's post from the #challenge30days.

If you enjoyed it, remember to show some love, which ever way you prefer: comment, upvote or resteem :)

Thank you and steem on!


Hi, I'm Raluca. I've studied communication and psychology, and I'm currently working as a copywriter. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you can follow me @raluca.

Raluca


Sort:  

Love the project and the message. Resteemed it for that. The topic is still actual and I think this should have harsher punishment. Not to go in the politics, I would even put this into constitution, not some bollox of whom is allowed to love who.

Thank you for the resteem. And I totally agree with you, issues like this one should be taken seriously and put on the public agenda so we can do something about it.

Wow, those look pretty cool.

Glad you liked them :)

That's so cool, FFF are great indeed :)

yes, they are :)

Thanks for sharing. That's both a neat project and great art! I also think the same when I'm out and about, let's find some cool pics to share with my steemians. :)
Upvoted and followed. Look forward to your future content. Full STEEM ahead!

Glad you enjoyed this post & thank you for sharing Steemit love :)

Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81