May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Twenty Seven: How Many Comments You Upvote Each Day? Why?

I have been thinking about how many comments I upvote a day and although there is no specific number as I usually allocate about 4-6% of voting power for it since I would need to upvote 8% for a good comment and as high as 25% for an exceptional comment.

image.png

From Unsplash - Sergey Zolkin

I usually get about 5 comments on my post and as much as 20 for an intriguing post that either makes someone agree or disagree with my opinion and those are what I feel are the good post tha,t encourages discussions.

I write usually twice a day so at minimium, I would be getting about 10 comments a day that I would reply and upvote if they were good and in particularly busy days I could upvote and reply to 20+ comments.

I try to reply to the majority of my comments because they took the time to read my post and give their opinion on it.

I upvote their comments as a way to reward them and to keep them engaged. This was one of the reasons why I rented for delegations so that I can have the bandwidth and the value to upvote. In this way, I can keep upvoting and encourage the behavior of engagement.

In my post Is there Value in Upvoting comments? I explained why it was important

I have found that when you take the time and effort to reply and upvote comments there is a higher chance that they will return even if your upvote value is only 0.01 cent. That is still of value.

And then I learned about the dust threshold and knew how naive I was in upvoting comments to 0.01 to 0.02 cents and all the while thinking I was rewarding people when in fact I was just wasting my voting power.

I wrote my reaction and plan in this post You are a Zero | The Dust Threshold

So I am changing the way that I reward people that I engage with. In my posts I will make sure that it reaches 0.03 cents and this would mean I would upvote less in comments outside of my posts. It will lower the number of votes that I will be able to give out as I will maintain my Voting power to the same limit I have.

Now for those Steemians that have their upvote value is 0.01 only instead of upvoting a good comment you can reply to that and I suggest you check the person out and if you find a post still within pay out that you life upvote that and comment and maybe that person becomes an engager and a fan. Win-win!

So I still see the value of upvoting comments and I am not just limited to upvoting good comments on my own post as I am also in the lookout for good comments in other posts and comment under them to either agree or disagree. It is really important to get people commenting and utilzing their time to leave good impressions.

ono-communityvolunteer.jpg

Footer by @ameliabartlett

MAVERICKINVICTUS.gif


Centurion Mave.png

helpie.png

Click here for your Mannabase Income
Click here for your Kryptonia access for Superior Coins

Sort:  

Since I realize that as a newbie I can earn more from comment than post, I have found time to make quality comments on post.

It was the same way with me when I first started and was a way for me to build my network and have followers.

Mmm maybe if you know they use dustsweep you no longer need to go full hog on comments ;)

Hehehe it's my way of trying to help people build their accounts at least knowing the dust theory now helped me in knowing how much I should give.

Hey @maverickinvictus! you seem like a steemit power user. Any chance you'd like to try our new cross platform mobile app? We've added things missing from steemit like push notifications, user mentions, and chatting with other users. We’re also giving away free STEEM if you invite new users to the app. You can download the app here for iOS:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/vapor-a-steem-app/id1359525246

or here for Android:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.vapor

We're always looking ways to improve the app, so if you have any feedback we'd love to hear it!

Hey thanks and yes I always test out new apps and condensers for Steem and would be happy to test this out.

Awesome! happy to hear that! would love your thoughts. Also, feel free to DM me in the app if you'd like to chat privately.

I've been following the same philosophy as you are regarding upvoting comments. I've been wondering lately, though, if I should maybe forego upvoting comments and also decline rewards on my own comments. I'm wondering if I would get more engagement that way if people don't feel obligated to reward me? For those who don't reward comments much, anyway, it wouldn't make a difference, and I would hope to attract someone else who might otherwise not engage because they don't have the vote power.

The only problem is, there might be some people, like me, who want to reciprocate, or upvote my comments and might be put off by the fact I won't let them. So, I haven't done it yet, but I've been mulling it over. :)

Congratulations @maverickinvictus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 2.11% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @maverickinvictus!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.39
ETH 3336.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70