May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Nineteen: Name Top 3 All Time Favorite Movies

in #challenge30days6 years ago (edited)

Okay so prepare to be geekified as the list will contain an homage to everything nerdy. Some minor spoilers and theories so if you don't want to spoil it for yourself you might want to skip it.

To be honest though it was a bit harder to just put 3 movies as I had to mentally list and then remove and then add a movie. It was as if 3 nerds were fighting to put their favorite movie in and there were shouting matches and even threats to delete some films on the hard drive.

So without waiting too long as they might start fighting again here are my top 3 all time favorite movies.

The Star Wars Trilogy

image.png

Source

There is no denying that I love the Star Wars Trilogy. Hell, even my profile picture here is me playing on a VR headset Star Wars Battlefront 2! I added a nifty Sith lightsaber after. Oh, may I add that I was wearing a Darth Vader T-Shirt!

Nerd alert!!! Yeah, I am and I was in a Star Wars convention as well so saying I am a fan of Star Wars is an understatement.

What is not to love you have a young protagonist in a journey to know his origins and how to control this mysterious power called The Force. Put it some awesome lightsaber fights and striking back laser shots back to enemies and I was sold.

Later on, as my geekiness increased I even watched and read more about the lore of the Jedis from their fighting stances, to powers and even their philosophy and religion. It was a slippery slope of knowledge and information that I never got out.

Then you have beautiful princesses, snarky space buccaneers, quirky androids and of course Darth Vader. You know you are a bad ass when you have an instantly recognizable theme song. Play the first 3 notes and you know that shit is about to get real! Then that lightsaber humming and you know you're fucked!

All three nerd personas agreed on this movie.

Lord of the Rings Trilogy

image.png

Source

So here it was a bit more difficult as 2 out of the 3 personas started arguing that we already had Star Wars so we should be leaving the heroic journey genre. There would be better, more diverse films that we can put it and yet LOTR Nerd was not budging.

This was what inspired the likes of Star Wars, Harry Potter, and even those Percy Jackson books. LOTR was the basis for a lot of world-building and character developments that we see today.

Besides you had Humans, Elves, Hobbits, Dwarves, Wizards, Ents, Orcs, Goblins and other creatures that compromised the characters.

And those epic wars on a grand scale, that siege of Helms deep where our heroes faced waves after waves of the Uruk hai and the many infantry, siege, and tactics used. How about seeing that cavalry charge by the Riders of Rohan and when you shed a tear in Faramir's last-ditch assault against the Orcs besieging Minas Tirith. Then with all hope lost you had Gandalf rallying everyone and kicking ass.

Admit it you wanted Legolas glow and locks and looking good while killing hordes of enemies. I know at time we wanted to punch Frodo in the face and always rejoiced that Sam was there. We all know that Sam was the true MVP hahahha.

LOTR even if is so long I would not hesitate to binge watch. No matter how long it is or how many times you watched it, it still brings you to epic highs and lows, it still makes you root for the heroes.

Spirited Away

image.png

I nearly had a riot here as Subnerds from the Anime genre emerged and wanted to lynch the Anime geek who suggested this. Anime geek had to use his Naruto Shadow clone jutsu to fight off the hordes and then turn Super Saiyan when the Geek Troll emerged and had a menacing club in his hand.

Oh the carnage, so many geek blood spilled because Spirited Away was suggested. After all the smoke cleared, Anime geek stood triumphantly and placed Spirited Away in the pedestal.

I love Studio Ghibli Anime movies. They are by far still one of the most creative studios that have made classics like Spirited Away, Howl's Moving Castle, My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki's Delivery Service, Princess Mononoke, Nausicaa and let us not forget Grave of the Fireflies that put me in the ringer and had me blubbering like a 5-year-old.

Out of all those classics Anime Geek chosed Spirited Away because of the beauty, the story and the lessons learned. One of the favorite concepts that I have there is names having power and sometimes we give power over us to people who not necessarily have the best intentions for us.

It was full of different nuances, interesting characters, tidbits on spirituality, and trivia on Japanese culture.

It was a masterpiece that has stayed relevant and inspiring even today. If you haven't watched it or any of the Studio Ghibli movies then I highly suggest you do!

PM_line_2.png

So that is my top three all-time favorite movies, some personas were hurt, some left bloody and unconscious but I think end of the day we all enjoyed watching these movies.

How did you like mine? Did we have any movies in common? What are your top 3?

ono-communityvolunteer.jpg

Footer by @ameliabartlett

MAVERICKINVICTUS.gif


Centurion Mave.png

helpie.png

Click here for your Mannabase Income
Click here for your Kryptonia access for Superior Coins

Sort:  

It's going to be interesting how each person connects with the movies they choose. In you're case, full geek. I can't blame you, though.

Star Wars is classic and in many ways still holds up and has definitely been influencing the last Star Wars movies. I've probably seen each one on average three to four times (I don't consider myself that huge of a fan of any movie series). It's iconic, the most recognized, I imagine, movie series in the world.

I haven't seen Lord of the Rings nearly as much, probably due to the running time, and probably because epic fantasy isn't my thing. I really liked each movie, however, and the kill competition between Legolas and Gimli was fun. I did not want to be Legolas, though.

I have not seen Spirited Away, but I believe my youngest son has. He's big into Anime, so I'd be very surprised if he hadn't. I'll have to ask him if he liked it.

Hahhaha yeah it was hard not to turn full geek here and choose some movies that I really enjoyed watching multiple times. I am such a fan of sci-fi, fantasy, magic and swordplay and of course animation. One of the banes being stuck in an age of being 16 years old mentally haahha.

Yes the Star wars movies are truly epic (although we don't talk about the prequels and whiny Anakin!)

Foor me even with the long run time of Lord of the RIng it is something that is worth it.

Oh Glen Try Spirited Away and keep an open mind when you watch it. I am hoping that you will try :)

I'm game. My youngest son has not seen it, so maybe that's a movie we can watch in the near future.

I guess I'm one of the few people on Earth who didn't mind the prequels so much. I do have to say, though, that Anakin could have been a little less whiny. But there's some pretty epic scenes in The Phantom Menace and I liked Attack of the Clones for the political undertones. Revenge of the Sith is probably my least favorite.

I'd say I'm a pretty big fan of all of what you said (maybe not magic), but I haven't found a personal connection with any of those, even though I do really like the genres.

Wow, these are my favorites too... almost ;-) It's hard for me to rank them all, but here goes, as much as I know I will forget some...

  1. Star Wars original trilogy, ranked V, IV, VI
  2. Blade Runner (1982) and Ghost in the Shell (1995 Anime)
  3. LOTR trilogy
  4. Once Upon A Time In The West
  5. Terminator 2 and the Nolan Batman trilogy

Some of the newer films that may make my top 10 are The Shape Of Water, Arrival and... yes, Avengers: Infinity War also could make that list...

It's so good to know myself surrounded by so many kindred spirits here on Steemit and within Helpies :-) Thanks, @maverickinvictus, so good to get better acquainted!

Oh I see I forgot to mention Spirited Away: also one of my favorites, but just outside my top ten...

I also wanted to put in Blade Runner as it tackled such an interesting question on reploids. Oh yeah the Batman Trilogy of Christopher Nolan especially Heath Ledger's Joker was just amazing!!!!

Ohhh very good selection of new movies and I was thinking of adding Avengers: Inifinity War as well so you see my predicament of just choosing 3 hahahhaha.

Yeah it is really good knowing a lot of awesome people in Helpie! I have beenn given cookies, comics and wormholes it will be difficult to get rid of me.

All good choices, though I don't think I would watch them again, with the exception of spirited away. I think I forgot what happened in that one. Miyazaki movies are definitely among my favorites for the same reasons you mention.

Yeah Eon indeed the are timeless and still look beautiful as compared to anime movies created today.

I loved Spirit Away (well I like all the movies you mentioned, but Spirit Away is the least popular one)! I watch that movie again last year and I even googled the black figure to try to understand it better, because that being was certainly something special.

Have you watched Interstellar? That has been my favorite movie so far :)

It was a bloody match to get these three as many titles wanted to vie for it hahaha. Interstellar was indeed something special and expanded your imagination.

Oh man No Face, the power of names and the nuances of Spirited away I just can't get enough of it and I love all Studio Ghibli movies.

Props for Spirited Away. Good to see a not usual suspect in you’re top 3, we don’t see that happen often enough.

Yes!!! spirited away is sure to be in any of the list that I would make and it has such a profound effect and inspiration it has given me especially in some of the world building I have done.

haha ofcourse Star Wars

How can I leave that out hahaha when even my avatar is wearing Star Wars stuff!

haha you have a good point!!

LOTR is definitely top three material, but I'm not sure Star Wars is top ten. The nerd is not strong in me. "As Good As it Gets" is on top, followed by "Good Morning Vietnam."

I don't do anime.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

LOTR. You may recall I begged off and went to sleep after about 30 minutes. No regrets. Not one. Play it again, I'll do it again.

This post has received a 6.36% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @omitaylor. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

You got a 1.50% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @maverickinvictus!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

I'm a massive LOTR fan Mav. I never admit to people how many times I have read the lord of the rings books cause it is a little embarrassing ;-) Starwars is something I didn't really get into until later on in life, as I was a fantasy purist, but I dig it now. Never seen Spirited Away so that is one for the list of must watches :-) Thanks for the recommendation m8

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78