Dreaming In Shades of Green...Yearning for Spring

in #challenge30days7 years ago

Don't get me wrong, I do love the Holiday Season! I'm a lover of the excitement and hopefulness that I feel in those around me, and the smiles are many and shared. When Christmas is over, and the candy cane excitement wanes, I'm ready to get past New Year's and move on to the next year's adventures! Not quite sure what I'm expecting, but it's a constant! LOL

One thing that is a certainty, is my focus on new growth. For me, this manifests in a huge desire to get my hands in the planting soil. I'm looking out the kitchen window; the sun is shining, as though to fool me! Calling, "Jeani, Come out and play!" (OK, did any of you just hear The Lost Boys?) Yeah...you aren't fooling me! It sure wasn't anywhere near balmy when I fed the animals!

reclaim garden scallions 2018 in window.jpg

So, for today...and this week...I'll have to be content to play indoors. And look out the window. And plan. That could be dangerous! But, I have seeds to go through, ideas to refine, new things to learn...we'll be fine!

This group of scallions will be the first addition to Reclamation Garden 2018. I have a penchant for growing things that would, normally, be thrown away. Scallion bottoms, onion butts, celery bottoms, wilted tomatillos and tomatoes...this year, I'll try planting my ginger root scraps. What could it hurt?

Scallions are my number one, favorite thing to re-grow. The guy in the window will give us fresh scallions in the kitchen until it's warm enough to move to the garden.

reclaim garden celery and scallions.jpg

This group was from the first planting of 2017. I picked the celery after it grew, but the scallions are still growing strong. As I harvest only the tops, they're the Energizer Bunny of the Reclamation Garden, for sure! They just keep on growing and growing! I do have some that have been in production for over 2 years! Amazing, my green scallion friends are!

So, as I embrace the tenacity of the scallion, I'll close for today. Enjoy the first day of the New Year, 2018, fellow Steemians. May happiness and prosperity smile on you this year!

Follow me on
http://www.facebook.com/gardengatespecialtyfoods
http://mamajeani.wix.com/gardengatecatering

Sort:  

I'll have to wait quite a bit before I start sowing vegetables for the next season, but the time is ticking. Spring will be here in no-time!

Good luck with your garden! Cheers

Yes, it will! I'll start inside...maybe we'll get lucky and have an early Spring again this year.

So smart to regrow the green onions like that! I hate buying a bundle just to use a few and have the rest spoil.

They will last forever!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56763.93
ETH 2963.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34