Dreaming In Shades of Green...the Tomatillo, a Mexican Gooseberry

in #challenge30days7 years ago

selfie june 2 tomatillo flowers.jpg

The tomatillo is a mysterious fruit! Like the tomato, it's used as a vegetable, but it's biology declaims it fruit! I think!
I could be wrong...I mean, I used to thing that tomatoes were vegetables...and then, they said, no!

Either way, the Tomatillo is a fun whatever it is! Used in making Green Salsa, it's invaluable! It is the central flavor in all TexMex Green Salsas, the Tomatillo LOOKS like a green tomato, but is not! The tomatillo is, actually, a gooseberry plant member! But, like it's tomato friend, it IS plantable by the slice!

selfie tomatillo starts april 9.jpg

Simply take a fresh tomatillo, unwrap it's husk, give it a rinse, slice it into 1/4 inch slices, and plant each in its own cup, set it in some nice organic growing soil...In just a few days, you'll see babies growing! Foster on with some adequate support, after transplant, in the form of tomato cages, and you, too , will have fresh lovely tomatillos!

selfie juse 2 tomatillo.jpg

This will give you an aim in the right direction, my Steemian friends! Let me know if you need more guidance, and I will provide! For now, and until tomorrow...Steem ON!!!

Hugggzzzzz,
Mama Jeani

selfie july 7 beach.jpg

Sort:  

I never could figure out what to do with those but I used the sprouts for salad! Lol

The sprouts would be good baked into bread, too. I'll have to look at foing some sprout breads

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mamajeani to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59