Dreaming In Shades of Green...The Herbs of Spring

in #challenge30days7 years ago

It's a beautiful, but cold, day! The sun is shining brightly this morning, and is forecasted to shine throughout the day, bringing some much needed warmth to the pens and the greenhouse! It's still pretty darned cold out there, in the 20's, with a predicted high of 30. As the sunlight dances through the tree branches, the goats seem to be enjoying the sunshine, and are out grazing on the little bits of greenery in the back pasture. Such a simple, yet beautiful picture! I love my little homestead!

selfie the homestead sun shine through the trees.jpg

I spent some time, yesterday, going through the seeds collection, and I've actually got quite a bit! A good friend gave me much of her leftover seeds at the end of Summer; they've been stored in a cool, dry cabinet, so they should still have a respectable percentage of sprouts to come from the planting. Those expiration dates on seeds...pretty much a suggestion, not carved in stone! Last year, I planted some of a new pack of Basil, and it did not fare so well. Now, Basil is a friend of mine, and normally does outstandingly, so I was baffled when it just didn't pan out! I had a second packet of seeds, that was supposed to have expired in 2015...It grew like a madman! Just shows, it never hurts to give older things a chance!

selfie seeds.jpg

This is maybe, a third of the seeds I've got. The first plantings will be the herbs...and those will start indoors this month. I'm leary about starting too much in the one greenhouse too soon; I'm pretty sure this isn't the last freeze we'll see! So, I'll start those in their sale pots. I'm planning on using the 4" pots for my sellable herbs, where they can be window plants or may be transplanted.

Herbs for the first wave will be Basil, Thai Basil, Thyme, Oregano and Cilantro. Maybe some Dill...,we'll see. For some reason, I've not had much luck with Dill! That and Tarragon! I'm not quite sure what that deal is, but we'll keep on trying! My catering clients are quite fond of Tarragon in their Chicken Salad, so it'd be nice to be able to have fresh instead of dried. If anyone has tips or suggestions on those two, I'd sure be appreciative!

selfie tomatillo starts april 9.jpg

These are some starts from last season; we'll just set that here, and call it inspiration! Time to get online, and see what kind of deals I can get on the peat pots, soils, and such. Time for thoughts, lists and writing those plans into happening!

I hope you all have a wonderful day, my Steemian friends! Full Steem ahead! C'mon , Spring!

Follow me on Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/gardengatespecialtyfoods
http://www.facebook.com/geminigardenscandles

Sort:  

I have no luck with growing anything. When I was younger, my sister and I would plant the same seed at the same time and hers would grow while mine wouldn't. Now I'm starting to believe that some are born with green thumb.

I didn't have anyone to compete with, so Im not sure...but my last two onion butts are looking lazy, lazy, lazy!!!

Hahaha they might be hung over from the holidays!

Dill isn’t a new must in my garden because of that fat little caterpillar 🐛... turns into a swallowtail butterfly so I consider it my duty! Lol! 😋

I try a couple of times yearly...maybe an earlier start...
;)

Congratulations @mamajeani! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47