What Are The Top 5 Most Relevant Witnesses On Steemit?

in #challenge30days6 years ago (edited)

Witnesses rule - but what the heck are they and what do they do?


Seriously, what do they do?

This is a very tough one and something I know the least about - so I'll be reading everyone's post on Steemit tonight to learn more and educate myself.

I thought about it, and before I read others I'm going to post what I think a Witness is and why I picked who I did...I figure this will give a minnows views and maybe even help the witnesses alittle in some way...well maybe not, hehe.

Anyways I read somewhere a Witness is like someone who is voted in...maybe each month? based on the total number of minnow votes they get, someone like me, I assumed they were closely linked to two things.

  1. Minting new coins - I think I read somewhere so many new Steem coins get made on a regular basis and the witnesses get a heap for being, errr Witnesses.
  2. Hosting Web server things that run Steemit - Not sure I understand technically what they do, but I imagine they are running servers and trying to keep the platform up 24 X 7. Witnesses help to keep the lights on at night

When I vote my witness funny enough is nothing to do with either of these things, it's more like I have stumbled across one of their blogs and I like it. Often they are making tools and things to augment the platform and those are fun to use. Sometimes I might get a big upvote for one of my posts, sometimes this is from a witness if so I know they got good taste so they get a vote :).

Witnesses are still abit of a mystery for me that I have been slowly discovering more - I reacon reading peoples blogs here in the 30 day comp, I'll get a better idea and maybe make some changes or vote some new ones.

 Now to read what others blogged and see how far off I was :)

Oh but first my top 5 are:

 ausbitbank - This one is awesome and supports us Team Aussies with centre link benefits, a good upvote to boost our posts alittle so if we are having a bad upvote day, it's not a bad hair day as chicks would say hehe.

aggroed  - He is also involved in teamaustrala stuff, not that I've ever met or chatted to the guy or he has responsded to a  comment I may have left (I imagine he is crazy busy). But I read his blogs occasionally and he seems passionate about Steemit...what more do I need?

 arcange - Not sure why I started voting this one, it was one of the first I did. I think because he/she has a bot that often drops a seemingly useful comment on my blogs and the comments seem to be about caring for Steemit

 curie and ocd-witness  - Steemit would be stuffed with out people like these guys. I know technically these are two very different witnesses but in my mind they do equally good stuff, looking for good content and really helping Steemit with great upvotes etc. A few times in the early days I nearly gave it in, then people associated with these witnessess came in and showed me the way

dragosroua  - Just cause I like his posts and we think in a simular way about some Steemit stuff and the larger world around us.

Cheers

Sort:  

Very nice!!!! Ive been working on a "fast and furious" explanation of witnesses this week! We. Must be on the same wavelength hehehhee

Ive been compiling a list of helpful tips for newbies in a little "crash course". When it's done I'll send it your way- maybe it will help! (Or not) hahahaha

Either way... The more people are seeking to research and discover..the better steemit will be! So thanks for your part in it!!! 😊

Make Steemit Great Still :)

One newbie at a time! Lol

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

I'm loving reading all these witness posts and learning lot by what I have read so far.

I too and slowly learning what they are all about and it's been interesting to see some of the names that pop up on almost every post. @ausbitbank being one of those names which I'm happy to say I have voted for a long time ago, they might have been my first vote for a witness.

Thanks for this post!! I enjoyed reading it and was very informative too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63064.62
ETH 2460.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66