SUGAR - Your liver will thank you! #challenge30days (12/30) - blogging/meditation

in #challenge30days7 years ago (edited)

In recent Months, i have become kind of a health nerd. I would say I didn't live particularly unhealthy before, but recently it just really started to fascinate me.

So a week ago, i decided to stop eating sugar, and boy, this is harder than it sounds. Not just because of the cravings, but because sugar is in EVERYTHING!

You really need to become a label ninja, for the sake of cutting out all sugar from the diet.

But now, what does this have to do with mindfulness/Meditation?
Actually, a lot. Due to the fructose in sugary foods, blood sugar levels are going on a roller coaster ride. This is because our ancestors could not easily obtain fructose. The only source were fruits, which weren't really that available either. Thus, the liver never developed the ability to break down fructose. This allows the sugar to enter the bloodstream more or less directly. This leads to the sugar levels shooting up rapidly. Once they spike we feel the energy, but what also happens, is that the body releases insulin. The insulin has the effect to bring the blood sugar levels back down. This results in feeling drained.

Those constant swings in blood sugar levels are a big stress we put our body through. Both physically AND mentally. The constant consumption of sugar is just destined to make us prone to manic depressions.

I am clearly not only doing this for my mental health, but cutting out sugar comes along with many physical health improvements.

Cutting out sugar is said to help...:

  • ... Loose belly fat
  • ... Lower risk of type 2 diabetes
  • ... clear skin
  • ... healthy liver

The list would go on, but i just wanted to name a few to give you an idea.

Even though i started this diet only one week ago, some of the benefits already started to shine through. Especially the skin in the face started to feel a lot healthier.

I hope i have inspired you to try it out :)

You can start out by watching this documentary, for motivational purposes ;)

http://thatsugarfilm.com

This is part (12) of the 30 days writing challenge by @dragosroua. I combined this with a mindfulness challenge. My goal with this is to improve writing & english skills as well as becoming more self aware.

Thanks for reading, and stay healthy :)

Sort:  

Oh wow if you can keep this up you have a lot more will power than I do!! I used to eat A LOT of sugar and have also drastically cut down. You are completely right about the health benefits but I would struggle to cut it out of my diet altogether. Good luck!

For me it is actually easier to cut it out for good. Otherwise i will always remind myself of the taste, and my brain will try to convince me to eat more :'D thanks for you comment!

Never thought of it like that, probably a good plan!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62