You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sustainability for Kids: consumption

I love the idea of teaching children about economy and how it all works in real terms.

I love what you wrote about consumerism and the synonyms with the word 'consume'.

Are you able to offer a model of modern thinking for children that I can perhaps teach to my children and prepare them for a more sustainable economy of the future?

I have so many questions for you also. Perhaps we could do a guest post with you answering some of my questions or even do a video interview at some point which we can post up on D.Tube?

Thanks.
[email protected]

Sort:  

Hello @jasongrant and @geke,
I have used this sustainability game for a wide variety of age ranges. It is also helpful to provide the kids with a tally structure or template for tracking the numbers. As a sub-objective, it's interesting to note those who struggle with the impulse to eat as much popcorn as possible, as well as those who quickly learn that working together benefits all. Finally, I highly recommend a reflection activity for the students to note how their mindset changed (or didn't), and how this applies to the real world.

Today your teacher and I will be the producers and you will be consumers. In this game, our production and your consumption is limited to the amount of resources available.
Will It Last? Game:
You are in groups of 4 or 5. Write your Group letter (A,B,C, D, or E) and your name on your paper.
Let’s do a practice round together.
-We have produced enough popcorn (representing products) for each group to begin with 16 pieces.
-Each group member must take at least one piece during each round.
-At the end of the round the remaining supply will be replenished by half.
-At the end of 4 rounds, groups will compare how much they have left.
-After a discussion about natural resources and consumption, everyone will get to eat the popcorn and will get more to enjoy.

Hi Jason! I've written a book on basic economics for kids, but I am thinking of putting this series into an expanded format and producing a book on sustainability for kids that would teach them the economics of sustainability versus the underlying economic gov't policies that cause consumerism (which I'll get to later in this series). But sure, I'm available for any questions you might have. Are you on Discord? My Discord handle is @geke. If not, I'll pop you an email.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05