You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What’s The Best Thing That Happened To You Thanks To Steemit?

I think this turned out fine. Maybe dragosroua's thoughts impeded you a bit because you think a lot alike in this case, but inspiration and motivation are too great things to get out of Steemit. It should be something we all get. Even if it's something like, "If he can do that, so can I," or "I can do that bettter."

To me, this is the fundamental difference between creating a platform to connect people only to then force manipulated advertisements onto them in order to make money

And used the information we put there to give/sell data to companies so they would buy the ads to target us with.

Sort:  

That is exactly what I meant by "manipulated advertisements".

Okay. I thought maybe that's what you meant, but I tend to want to state the obvious, or at least clarify it. :)

It had crossed my mind, however, that while this blockchain and subsequent ecosystem was not designed for the purpose you describe, it can still be used to those ends if someone wants it to. A lot of people here have been using this platform because they don't like censorship, but the opposite is also true. Without some expunging I'm not aware exists yet, things can't be deleted off the blockchain. So if an authority wants to come looking, I'm not sure what's in place to stop them, and that might be okay in a few cases, not so okay in many others.

Clarifying is what makes us money around here, haha. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71