January 2019 Challenge 30 Days - Best Practices For Keeping A Successful 30 Days Challenge

As promised, I'm starting off this year with another 30 days writing challenge. These challenges mean that I'm setting the goal of writing every day for 30 days. That's it, that's what a basic 30 days writing challenge is, for me. From that point on, I can add a few spices, like a specific topic or a way to write the posts in the challenge, or whatever semantic meaning I want to flavor it with.

Occasionally, there may be also a contest. This time, there is not a specific contest, just the fact that this challenge is supported by the @challenge30days account, specifically created for this type of activities. There isn't much SP to the account at the moment, I delegated 2000 SP myself, to bootstrap it, but let's hope some whales will see the benefit for the community and chip in.

And one more reminder: this writing challenge is about "best practices". The area of the "best practices" is not relevant, but the tips should be useful. For instance, you can write today about "best practices" to make an omelet, and tomorrow about "best practices" to lead 1,000+ people teams. As longs as you know what you're writing about, everything should be fine.

Without further ado, let's start:

Best Practices For 30 Days Writing Challenge

So, what are the most practical and useful tips for having a successful 30 days writing challenge?

  • time-box 15 to 30 minutes every day for it. The same way you time box 2-3 minutes per day to brush your teeth
  • start with a list of areas that you're comfortable with. Literally, write down the top 10 things that you're good at. It can be cooking, programming, listening, pairing cloths in a fashionable way, or whatever. This will be your "go to list"
  • try to have a few posts in advance. If you get inspired one of the days, don't stop after you finished the article for that day, keep writing, even if you're not publishing it right away. It's not cheating, because most likely you'll edit that article again before posting it
  • read other articles of the people who are joining the challenge.
  • comment on other article of the people who are joining the challenge. Show some support. It may come back at you the moment you're expecting the least
  • keep a list of links to the previous articles in each article. It works very well and it prevents you to repeat yourself, while still maintaining a nice motivating vibe
  • don't quit
  • in case you didn't get the previous best practice, I will repeat it: don't quit. It's just 30 days, it will pass anyway.

So, that's it for today. This very article and the introduction should give an idea about what and how you should write, should you decide to join this challenge. But just in case you need more details, here are some:

How Do I Participate In This Challenge?

The criteria for @challenge30days account to vote your post are:

  • post must be at least 300 words long
  • post must be original
  • post must be on best practices
  • post must use the #challenge30days tag

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

That sound like great challenge

This is worth participating in.

Great best practices for 30 days writing challenge. I still have family in the house so I think I am going to pass this time. Thanks for your commitment to the Steemit community.

Dragos, I dont think I am good enough. Going to think a out it and I Will let you know if i want to join. Thanks for the heads up !
Oh and happy New Year💃

Dear Dragoš, it's great to see you pushing these challenges and raising the overall quality and participation level of the platform. Resteemed in hope that your initiative will get many participants.

Have a fabulous year 2019.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your support and Happy New Year, my fried :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87