Walking for Profit? Can it be done?

in #challenge308 years ago (edited)

Walking Dollar Update

Review of Bitwalking app so far. I have seen a few people mentioning the idea that one could make money by simply walking. I decided being when I do get out I tend to walk. This week I took the advise of my wife and decided I needed to get out of the house more.

I have not been working and I'm struggling with issues of PTSD and feel the safest staying home. Since I need to get out more I installed the Bitwalking app. Right now the market is not open here in the US but they are working on the market.

image

Right now I been using the app daily and made over $1.39. I am hoping this kicks off I just leave it running and yes I know it is not much in a few days but most of that was just walking inside the house.

With bitwalking, you can generate money by walking. A step is worth the same value for everyone - no matter who you are, or where you are.

This seems like a crazy idea, but the company did actually raise money. According to BBC

walkers earning approximately 1 BW$ for about 10,000 steps (about five miles)

So far it seems the project is still in beta mode and they have some things they are working on to verify things such as actual steps being taken etc. It looks like this might be a good thing. If you want to get in shape this might give you motivation to get out and walk.

In away it seems to me like people are against the idea of making money by walking. Guess they don't see the benefits for people who do walk and this might be small amount of cash in the bucket. As for me I will be using the Bitwalking app and waiting for the market to open being in less than one day inside my house I made $0.06 on my first day and it has helped me get out of the house to walk I feel this will be a great improvement for many people.

image

First image is a screenshot of my Bitwalking wallet showing it's working. Second screen shot is of my shoes on showing I'm heading out for a walk.

This article was written and uploaded with eSteem, thanks to all the hard work that @good-karma has done.

Sources 1

Sort:  

smysullivan1 Smysullivan tweeted @ 14 Jan 2017 - 03:22 UTC

@Steemit #bitwalking #walking

steemit.com/challenge30/@s… / https://t.co/ATajNWjSsg

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

A must for all nurses..we'll be rich!! Nice one @smysullivan thank you!

Very true. Seems if more people are interested then the market will obviously get better. I think it's good for everyone. Right now in beta they say it's capped at $3 per day but even then that's $90 a month and I would walk for that much a month.

Can't people fake their location? I wonder how legit this is, like will they just sell your cellphone number and other info to 3rd parties or something.

They have not released the code for verifying location but that is one thing that was pointed out that it could be easy to take. As for selling information they said they are not going to sell the information, so that might be a concern at some point, I hope not.

Where can we download this app?

It is actually called Bitwalking on Google play. As far as I can tell it is not yet on iPhone.

Thanks. This is an advantage to me because I walk a lot :)

Youre welcome. I plan to start walking more like I used to.

Interesting read. I might try this aswell soon.

Que grandiosa idea, querido amigo @smysullivan, un buen incentivo para hacer un poco de actividad física, muchas gracias por el dato.

Gracias, quiero que este es una bien idea!

Huh, this in interesting. I think this can motivate people to get out more lol. It's sad we need something like this to incentivize to be more active :P

So true it does seem like we should just walk for exercise but part of the main focus was developing countries and the idea that something they do daily could help them make a better living.

very interesting, thanks! I might just try this, I walk around a lot.

I used to but right now PTSD has the better of me. So this might help me get outside and walking again.

best wishes with PTSD...not an easy thing to live with and to heal!!

Thank you, just wish at times it was not so disabeling.

0.18 a day! dude! you need to move more! I make ~ 1 buck a day! (perhaps the fact that I do 20 km/day in bike has something to do with it).
PS: we've the same shoes!

That's awesome I love these shoes they are awesome. Well, it's only been 5 days but I think going forward it will increase and might get up to $1 per day. I used to walk a lot back in the Army so this at least will give me motivation to get outside.

The motivation called: "oh jeez, I'm getting sluggish!"

Lol. Guess some people need the motivation. For me I hope it helps with PTSD.

You may want to edit the title -- small mistake -- Profit.

I stayed online to wait for this post.

Resteemed, will get to the twitter on it soon, it is late for me. I decided to do a BTC update in Canada post while waiting.

You are doing great man, honestly, I am proud of you.

Thank you. Been taking all the advice I can and working on what I understand and apply. Seems it gets easier with time and practice. Thank you for your support.

NP buddy.

I will always try my best to help you as you have done with me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40