Pets and Mental Health!

in #challenge308 years ago

Mental Health

Living with post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) can be challenging. There are a few benefits of having pets for those of us with PTSD. Some days my anxiety, stress, and anger can be so bad I can not move. Other days the result in panic attacks. Can animals be helpful in living with mental health problems?

Dogs and Mental Health

However more research is needed to see if there really is evidence as to if dogs can really help in treating PTSD. Being I live in a house where there is a dog right now. This is my wife's sister's dog, yet benefits I get from having her around: when I start feeling stressed out I can always have a reason and a companion willing to go for a walk. Sometimes when I'm the only one at home, it is nice to have a companion around to not feel so alone.

Research has shown that the hormone oxytocin levels tend to increase through bonding with dogs. This hormone is released when bonding in social aspects basically, it can also intensify memories of bonding, whether positive or negative bonding occurred.

Cats and Mental Health

Since I meet my wife we have had a few cats, they are so cute. They have also been known to help people with PTSD. For me it seems they are always nudging me when I'm stressed out or angry, sometimes just the little effort they show breaks the anger or stress. For me it seems they know just how much effort they need to do in order to help out, they also know quickly whether or not they are going to be effective. Seems that just interacting with animals not only increases oxytocin, but it also can increase serotonin and dopamine as well, which both help our mood.

I did learn that cats can be considered emotional support animals (ESA), to be completely qualified as an ESA you do need documentation from a mental health professional. Official animals that are ESA can be protected under the Fair Housing Act!




Owning cats leads to a reduced risk of cardiovascular diseases that you do not get from owning dogs.

Conclusion

I find just the simplest of interactions with my animals has been some of the best therapy. They seem to be present at the worst of times when I need something to break my concentration from the stress or the anxiety. My little cats help by hitting their little heads softly against me until I start petting them, which helps get my mind off of what ever is bothering me.

I wrote this as part of the 30 day writing challenge by @dragosroua. Due to life issues I missed a day or two recently not because of writing, I was burned out by the days activities!

Image Sources 1, 2, 3rd is one of my two cats!

Sources 1, 2, 3, 4, 5


Thanks to @son-of-satire for this gif.

Badges
Thanks to SteemVerify.com and @elyaque

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.87 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

A cat and box breathing are amazingly effective.

Not sure what you mean by box breathing but I have heard breathing does help. Have not had much success with breathing but might be due to not knowing how.

The box breath is: inhale while counting to five,
hold to the five count,
exhale to the five count,
hold empty to the five count,
repeat until fight or flight response is disengaged.

Thank you for explaining. That actually sounds fairly easy I will have to try it next time.

Really cool post!! I love the way that nature has a cure for all the problems created by mankind...
This specific therapy is partially a part of my 'FROZEN LAKE' so to speak... I wholeheartedly love animals and I have since I can remember, at the same time, I am highly allergic to them. That doesn't stop me from interacting with hem, I just have to medicate excessively before & after, then I don't get too sick.

Very true, I think the answers are not in medication but in just simple things in nature all around us!

I have depression and anxiety and find my 2 furbabies really help be feel less lonely :)

Don't forget all the animals on STEEMIT... such as myself. you have us!
And If you ever randomly feel the need to chat to a STRANGER/NOT SO STRANGER A.K.A STEEMIT FELLOW BLOGGER feel free to message. LOL I might not be able to help at all, however I can always lend a ear... Depression has been a close companion of mine alongside PTSD, and I currently struggle with a bit of EMPTY NEST SYNDROME as well.

Thank you that means alot. :)

They really do help me out as well!

They are my best friends, I talk to them more than I talk to anyone else

One of my favorite sayings is, the more people I meet the more I love animals...

That is I true, I would quite happily live with animals than humans

I feel sad saying this, but 90% of the people are clueless about their pet’s health! You should never use such supplements; it will just make your pet’s health worse. I only prefer proven ones and only after its recommended by experts. Check out these supplements http://www.blackburndistributions.com/blog/pet-supplements, I find them awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56