Future: Next Stop ForagingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge307 years ago

First step to foraging

Since 1970 we throw out almost 50 percent more wasted food than we did back then. A few years back I tried to get into composting, being very impatient and possibly not having the correct ratios, nor temperatures. All that happened is I made a big mess of a corner in the yard. Since that time I have not been living in an area that I could try again being I had to move. Now being I am in a better place to try again, and having seen a Bokashi bucket, I decided to go ahead order one and try again.

I know this may not officially be foraging yet, but at least I can take all my food waste I make and start using it.

Today, that number amounts to 40 percent of what our farmers grow, and averages 20 pounds of food per household per month.

Therefore I feel I am taking a step in the right direction, this will at least increase the amount of things I can start reusing. Having just received the Bokashi starter kit I am excited about the future possibilities. I know this is kind of short, but I'm excited to finally be able to save food scrapes and see how it works. Can not wait for the fermentation process to finish. I already have ideas for what I will start in a garden soon.

I am writing this for the 30 day writing challenge. I will make updates to the process as I go. Thank you for reading.

Image Source 1, 2
Sources 1


Badges
Thanks to SteemVerify.com and @elyaque

Follow @smysullivan
Thanks to @papa-pepper for the last gif.

Sort:  

I was surprised by the numbers I read. I just hope the little I can do will help.

Every little bit helps! You and many others somewhere are indeed contributing 0r @least attempting.

Being very frugal with food shopping and reusing leftovers, I rarely have wasted food, but I do have things like egg shells, vegetable ends and coffee grounds that I have been wanting to compost. I don't have my ideal piece of property yet but I have a feeling we might have something by the summer and then I can join you in the ranks of gardening and foraging for food. YAY!

I'm not yet in an ideal place why I got the bokashi bucket to start. But I'm in a better place now than I had been for the last couple of years. Good luck on finding the property. Sometimes it can be hard.

I've been an Army brat so finding HOME has been a life-long search. I'm glad to hear you're in a better place too. Do you have a link for the bokashi bucket?

Do you mean on where I bought it? I ordered it on Amazon hopefully can do a follow-up next day or two when I finally get the time to add scrapes to it.

I look forward to your update of how it goes.

Steem on,
Mike

Something we all should attempt to reduce carbon footprint. Great start to change :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.94 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Really enjoyed reading this

Thank you, I just got my bucket have not had time today anything with it just yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24