Challenge 30 Days: it is Fall.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge306 years ago (edited)

Today, I was forced to admit the outdoor gardening season is over. The grey clouds being pushed by a cold east wind were a strong signal. The maple trees have dropped many of their red and gold leaves. The bare brown branches pointing up to the sky.

I put away the tomatoes both the cherry and Brandywine plants, a week or so back. The harvest was bountiful. Next year I'll likely plant three cherry tomatoes on the deck, which variety, well I have months within which to make that decision. I'll wait for the seed catalogues to arrive around Christmas.

The zinnias and, in particular, the begonias were the reason, well other than finding it difficult to let the season go, I have waited until now to accept the inevitable, summer turns to fall, fall turns to winter and around we go. I enjoy living in a four-season climate. The changes bring new adventures and experiences. Although, winter does seem to last forever.

Back to the begonias. I will be planting them again in the spring. We purchased 12 plants at the Farmers' Market in may and they blossomed. In reality, despite the cold and 4 degree Celsius temperatures, the colours are bright and vibrant. They will definitely be a part of next year's deck-container garden.

Now as the days shorten and the nights grow longer, my attention turns to indoors, I have accepted fall's reality and am looking forward to what this winter will bring.

Sort:  

Fall is transition. and Fall is here.

indeed it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39