30 Days Challenge: Trip to the City:Day 4steemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge306 years ago

It snowed yesterday. Not much but hey it's too early. This morning there was ice on the front deck. My neighbour and I were heading into the city, Ottawa, about an hour's drive away.

The sun was bright but the air cool, cool enough to demand a sweater. We took the sideroads, more to see, both going to Ottawa and back the changing colours. The maples and ash trees were dropping their fall finery, the side of the roads was coloured red and gold. There were still numerous leaves on the trees to add their own magic to the journey.

Our first stop was at a computer shop. He was getting his laptop repaired and I am shopping for a new one, looking for power and speed, most likely a desktop for the upstairs office.

After that, we headed to Chapters to buy, on his part, and me to browse, the books and magazines. I didn't see anything I wanted and as I have an extensive home library with numerous books I know I will one day read, I decided to forgo the tempting purchase. I have a large library and my wife and I have agreed if a new book comes in an old one goes out to the local library book sale.

Over the years, we have moved several times and always give away boxes of books, which get magically replaced in our new home. We have agreed this must end.

After shopping, we went to the in-house Starbucks. Now, I prefer independent bookstores and coffee house but sometimes you just go with the flow.

On the way home, we stopped at McGregor's Orchard. The barn was full of apples and the scent of apples. I purchased apple cider and a bag of Cortlands for baking, cost me ten bucks. A few miles down the road, there was a vegetable stand. The grower came around the side when we pulled off the road. I bought four eggplants and about 20 peppers both sweet and hot, cost me five bucks. A sweet deal, we are going back next week, basically making the same trip. I wonder what he will have then.

Sort:  

Road side stands are the best! I'll wait to hear what he has next week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39