Where Are My Clothes? - Challenge 30 - #02steemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge308 years ago (edited)

It's warmer outside than in the staffroom this morning, so I've decided to write here. A problem is that I can't see the screen very well, but I think that might be a good thing: I set the Pomodoro to 11 minutes.

Here are the trees, and the light. It's going to be warm later today.

IMG_20170102_091631_2236a61d.jpg

Why is it a good thing not to see the screen? There are a number of places online where you can read about different philosophies of document preparation, and they will suggest a number of drawbacks with WYSIWYG editors. Formating and writing are different activities and it is easier to concentrate on them separately. Here's how this works for me:

  • I write in Nvim, a recent fork of Vim. I'm not a programmer, or a poweruser, but the text munching qualities of Vim are something I like. Also, I do not have to worry about formatting, and today I do not even have to worry about spelling, because I can't see the screen.

  • If I wanted to create a create a document for another purpose, I would next use pandoc, to produce a pdf, or an epub, and even a 'docx. But now I will copy and paste this text into the Steemit editor - back in the staffroom, where I can see - and fiddle with formatting, proofreading etc at that stage.

  • Let's see how it goes.

Duolingo

I did my first set of reviews this morning and took the following screenshots:

IMG_20170102_084301_620049ec.jpg

There's nothing particularly weird about this, except perhaps in context. Never one to miss the chance of inuendo, this Duolingo quickly provides:

IMG_20170102_084504_001c3fe5.jpg

We have a wonderful comic sorry straight away. It's not very original, of course, but it's something to start with. Where could it go.

IMG_20170102_084611_738dA58f.jpg

Hmm, this guy is not behaving like a gentleman. Is he talking about the mother or the daughter? An I don't care, it's nothing to me, as they throw him out of the window, or at a debriefing with his mates later, over a beer.

The Pomodoro sounds.

Thank you for reading @richardjuckes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44