Short, not-so-sweet day 3 of the challenge30 project

in #challenge308 years ago

Physio today has wiped me out.

A number of years ago, while at school, I was attacked and assaulted by four ‘schoolmates’. The case went to court and they were found guilty etc but that didn’t instantly heal my back where the instigator had stamped on it.

I’ve had problems with lower lumbar pain since then, made more painful by pregnancy (twice) and other things – falling off/thrown from horses and other shenanigans.

I learned to deal with the pain, put up with it, ignore it and sometimes, alleviate it with exercise and stretching – usually on advice from physiotherapists.

About six years ago, a car changed lanes and caused me to swerve to avoid collision. I avoided the idiot in the car, but hit the pavement (sidewalk) causing whiplash and re-injuring my lower back. Since then, I’ve been to a Sports Therapist once every 6 – 8 weeks or so to free-up the muscles and relax tendons etc.

Sometimes I feel literally ‘battered’ when I get home, today was one of those days. I feel like I’ve been rolled around in a barrel for a few hours.

Tomorrow I should feel loads better, I usually do, but today… sorry, this is all I have for the challenge 30 project.

Sorry for the whinge, back to 'normal' tomorrow :p

image from pixabay

Sort:  

It's very beautiful and very interesting post :)

@sift666 has back problems and sees a chiro regularly. He usually feels pretty knocked around for 24-48 hours afterwards as well, even though she is very gentle with him. So we understand.

Thank you :)

One day, I'll write the whole story down... maybe ;)

I'm so sorry to hear this michelle. You're so right. Justice doesn't mean that everything is restored. Just that the guilty might be punished. But the innocent have lost something that is usually never returned. My friend and her son were just hit by a car the week before Christmas. They were pedestrians walking across the street. The "man" (and I use that term so loosely) told his parents he wanted to hurt people that night. So he went out and did that. 5 times. Revved the engine, and when people tried to get to safety, he swerved to hit them and plowed through them. My friend almost lost her life that night. Her son was spared the majority of the impact. She spent Christmas in the hospital. She has an unbelievable road to recovery and no amount of earthly justice will restore what was taken from her.

sometimes I just can't wrap my mind around these things.

Oh boy :(

I do hope your friends come through that horrible experience with as little damage as possible <3

well - fractured L5.... could have been worse - but like you, I'm sure she will have some back pain to live with for a good portion of time. knees - double reconstruction :( fractured femur. but - the doctors both thought they would lose her that first night. Thankful to God for making her a miracle in spite of a really nasty event. Thanks for your comment :) and i hope that your pain becomes more manageable also - even healing :)

Back problems are terrible. I'm so sorry that you've been through all of that. Hopefully you feel better tomorrow. My brother was nearly killed in an accident just over 6 years ago. He will forever be dealing with back pain but he has one of those inversion tables that he swears by. Have you ever tried it? I'm thinking of getting one too.

I did feel better thank you xx
Never tried an inversion table... interesting... :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 03 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40