New Year, New 'me'?

in #challenge308 years ago (edited)

A couple or three years ago, approaching my 'big' birthday, I decided I needed to lose weight. I didn't just decide it, my clothes, my mirror and my body decided it too.


Because I enjoy too much of this...

Changes over the years meant I wasn't as fit or healthy as I used to be - not many of us are, I know - but I also knew that getting back to my 16-year-old self was never going to happen. So I was at least, realistic in my goals.

I didn't manage the goal in time for my 50th birthday. Close, but no cigar as the saying goes. I continued dieting and when I finally stopped losing weight, I was about 7lbs off my goal. I'd lost a total of 42lbs and I'm certainly NOT posting the 'before' pictures.

Last Christmas I looked amazing, especially in comparison to how I looked when I started.

In fact, @s0u1 and I had lost the equivalent of a child - and not a small child, a ten or twelve-year-old.

On my own, I lost more than the weight of our granddaughter. Imagine how that would be, carrying around a three year old in extra weight.

Today, I weighed myself again. Oh boy.

I'm now hiding all the chocolates, crisps and snacks we've accumulated since before Christmas and here we go again, back on the diet.

Wish me luck.

Oh yeah, I've put on 10lb since the last time I weighed myself. Unfortunately for me, that's not all the weight. I've been steadily gaining all year. I'm 'officially' overweight according to the wii.

I'll let you know how it goes.

Added by edit
I've just checked. I've gained 2 stone (28lb) since I stopped dieting. Not as bad as I thought it would be, but worse than it should be. I've never been a yo-yo dieter, but it would appear I am now!

At 5'6" I want to be back to slim and healthy. It helps with my back problems, first and foremost.

Sort:  

I have messaged you in Chat/

Great post Michelle and good luck

Thank you :)

I think, having it here, out in the open, I'll be less likely to slide.

lookin' like a movie star in that blue dress

LOL Not on the red carpet though! We'd just had work done and the floor covering was still 'in place' - an old sheet, covered with paint and plaster :)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.25 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 09 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

been there done it, bought the t-shirt, mug, and hat.....and gained everything and some back....so annoying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67475.08
ETH 3475.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65