Picture Book Idea: I Love You Slug (Why We Should Love All Nature)

in #challenge307 years ago

These are the rough notes for a picture book I am thinking about writing and illustrating. I mean how hard is it to draw a slug! The fairies might be more challenging.

I Love You Slug


Source: Pixabay (I've not started on the illustrating yet)



In fairyland on rainy nights, the wicked water wizard comes out and changes the fairy princes and princesses into slugs, as he doesn't like the fact that everybody loves them and doesn't like him.

He had no idea that you have to be nice for people to like you. He was once a fairy prince, but he wasn't nice and when people stopped talking to him altogether, he retreated to a cave and years later emerged as the wicked water wizard.

He thought that if he made the rest of the fairy princes and princesses into what he thought were ugly and slimy splodges called slugs, nobody would love them anymore and they would be out of fairy land forever and he could make it into wicked wizard land.

The only way to change the slugs back into princes and princesses is to say "I love you slug", but nobody would ever do that, would they?

But he didn't count on a little girl who thought that slugs and snails were the bee's knees and would bend down and whisper "I love you slug" to them, unknowingly releasing a fairy prince or princess.

One night, one of fairy princesses (as they could only change back in the night time so nobody sees them) flies to the little girl and tells of her good deed and she is thrilled to know how she's has helped and can't wait to tell her friends to say "I love you slug" when they see a slug as well, but they don't believe her and say "Ugh, I won't say I love you to a slug".

So the little girl still say says "I love you" to every slug on every damp day and she makes it her mission to find every one and not miss any. On these days she makes sure she leaves the house early so she has enough time to save all the slugs, before going to school.

She still tries to convince her friends so say "I love you" to the slugs, but they don't believe her and wicked water wizard laughs.

Do you believe her?

Will you help save Fairyland?

Then Book 2 would be other children finally saying I love you slug and the water wizard learning to be nice somehow! Any ideas?

This is my entry for day six of Challenge 30

Sort:  

... have a nice weekend! I love you, slug. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62985.30
ETH 3106.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87