How to buy a swimming costume....

in #challenge308 years ago

                        

Image credit

This morning I literally  laughed myself wide awake.  I received this text message from a friend and decided to share it with you.  It is translated from Afrikaans so I will try my best here.  

She wrote:

I just came back from my yearly torture shopping session.  (Usually the most embarrassing too) When I was a child, costumes for "grown-up" ladies were specially designed for  "grown-up" ladies.... with the correct support in the correct places.  I mean..it was really more of an engineering wonder-design. It had to keep everything together in the right places.  AND IT WORKED. 

Women with "grown-up bodies" do not actually have a choice.  They have to either go to the maternity department and stand in a queue to fit some flowery design suit so that they can also look like the hippopotamus from "Fantasia." or they have to hunt in between the "NORMAL" swimming costumes and see which pieces of elastic in bright neon colors do NOT fit them properly.  

                                        

Image credit

So there was nothing that I could do but to hunt....

I hunted down one costume that didn't look too bad and very unwillingly disappeared into the torture cage - also known as the changing room. What I noticed first about this costume was the incredible strength and pull of the stretch-material.  

I think the Lycra used for swimming costumes was developed by NASA to launch little spaceships with a slingshot.  One bonus IF you can worm yourself into the Lycra monstrosity, is that your internal organs are highly protected against a shark attack.  Any shark stupid enough to try and attack you will most surely break his jawbone by the back pull action.  

I wormed myself into the first costume, but when I put the shoulder-band over my shoulder I had the fright of my life.  My bosoms were gone. Missing in action! 

I finally found one under my left arm, and after searching a while found the other one stuck under my rib-cage. 

This is because today's costumes do not have a build it bra.  Grown-up women are supposed to spread their breasts in the costumes until it "looks right."  The problem is that it doesn't stay right.  So I arranged my bosom and looked in the mirror again.  It fits.  But only the parts that decided to stay inside fits.  The rest of me were climbing out everywhere. I looked like a piece of clay forced into a small piece of cling-wrap.

 While I stood there just looking at myself and all my extra pieces, the saleslady crept up to me and said"Oh there you all are!" "Yes, here we all are I said. 

"Do you still have something to fit?"

I fitted a cream colored costume with lots of wrinkles.  That made me look like a designer sellotape.  A flowered two piece made me look like a oversized serviette ring!

The leopard printed one piece made me look like an over sized Tarzan that got out on the wrong side of the bed.  The dainty black one made me look like a jellyfish in mourning......

And the pink one?  You don't even want to imagine that.  Finally I found one that fitted perfectly.  A two-piece with a short pair of pants and polo-neck top. 

It was cheap, comfortable and everything stayed inside.  I bought it.  When I arrived home I read the label.  

" Material can be transparent in water" 

Well screw that!  I am going to wear this one.  I just first have to learn how to swim like a fish on dry ground, because I am NOT going into the water!


Please go and check out these two accounts! 

@intelliguy and @ladypenelope1

To receive you need to give back! 

Let us help each other to make Steemit a better place for the  whole community and everyone to enjoy! Rome was not built in one  day..... 

                

If you enjoyed this please

Sort:  

Great post!
Thank you for the laugh , just if only it was limited to swimming suits we have issues with.

Hi @biglipsmama we need to laugh more and what is better than to laugh at ourselves!

@roswellrockman I laughed so much at the original text that I was actually crying.

I read this a second time, and laughed even more, as I pictured myself in some of the swim trunks I used to wear in my younger days. What a scary thought. :-D

I'm glad this made you laugh! The text really made me laugh as well.

I hate clothes shopping of any kind. Always have done. But good to be able to laugh about it. I'm also very impressed with your friends txting skills that she managed to txt so much.

Lol! When I finished translating I saw just how long her text was. Amazing to spend so much time on a text. I should get her to join steemit!😂

I hate shopping. Period. Think I did post about shopping once upon a time...

I don't mind grocery shopping. But anything else is stressful.
I think one of the worst places is a hardware store about 15 minutes walk from our house. I can cope for about 10 minutes and then I start to feel like I'm losing my mind and have to leave. The only thing we can think of to explain it is possible chemicals in the air. it's weird, one minute I'm fine, and the next I'm like a crazy person, freaking out.
But shopping for clothes is hideous. Especially pants. I have a high arse-to-waist ratio and anything that fits my butt is way too big in the waist.

I absolutely hear you. A little bit of anxiety perhaps? I get anxious in malls. Too many people. I tend to buy clothes and just take it back the next day....I feel like an idiot. I must apologize to you sincerely in public!!! I never thanked you for the contribution to my wallet. I humbly appreciate it. What a wonderful gesture. xx

Being an introvert, I don't like crowds, but usually manage to choose my times well. The hardware store thing is something else. It's not even the boredom of standing there while @sift666 chooses some screws! It's a quite horrible feeling.
Thank you for the thank you :-) It just felt right that anything earned from a tribute post should be shared with those who had lost beloved ones. How is the new puppy? x

The puppy is so cute! I just love him to bits.... I also choose my times well to go to the shops. Your issue must have something to do with the chemicals then...it's like when I go grocery shopping, I start sneezing two rows from the washing powder and go into a terrible hay fever state, so much so that I have to open a box of tissues to use and then when I get to the counter to pay, it looks like I have been crying during my whole shopping spree!

I wasn't expecting that ending....lol.....that's so something that would happen to me. Bathing suits are not my friends.....I usually don't wear them...I'll wear big shirts with calf height tights and walk along the shoreline like I am athletic.....the lies we tell ourselves....but I still enjoy the walk and the ocean.

@countrygirl where do you live? I am from South Africa and live in a small town called Port Edward. Right by the ocean. If you have seen what I have seen here...you would wear a costume. No one here cares what you wear as everyone seems to think they are on holiday all the time.

Hey @giantbear. I'm in Ontario, Canada. I live fairly close to either Lake Ontario or Lake Erie - I'm kind of situated between the two. Our lakes are pretty polluted and the beaches aren't great. Lake Erie is a bit better but it's shallow and on the muddy side. I still like to walk along the waters edge though, I find it relaxing.
There are a few people on Steemit from South Africa. Do you know @breezin? I think that's where she's from anyway.
I've not heard of Port Edward. Sounds beautiful and tropical.

It is actually....I will write a post and include pics sometime.

Great post giant bear and made me laugh. Made me think of last year when we were in the Dominican Republic and how many women were parading round in bikinis but were absolutely massive but didn't care .

That is true. I live in Port Edward South Africa down at the coast, and here nobody cares what size they are or what they wear. "Grownup" women wear bikinis here all the time and it does not bother anyone. Isn't that the way we are supposed to be...not care what others think? How simple would life be?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35