Sort:  

We used to have a rule about exclusive content, in order to avoid copyright infringement.
But this rule doesn't really work for people like Michelle because she's a known author. She does some exclusive content, but not all of it is exclusive.

In this particular case, someone in steemcleaners is trying to enforce some arbitrary ruleset on hashtags.

@steemcleaners Things like this make it difficult to attract and retain quality authors with large followings to the platform. Make a whitelist like we have for cheetah or you risk alienating not only authors like michelle.gent but also their entire following! Things like this make us look really bad to the outside world and really do slow adoption. She's not the only one either. My wife and I have both brought people over who have hit this from time to time. Those people generally quit because it's not worth the hassle.

Ahhhhh I see.
Thanks for explanation :)

You're welcome and thanks for the excellent question. If it hadn't happened to you or folks you know, it would be a very confusing post.

Loading...

Yeah!!! I like to avoid warnings where I can. Grateful that it was explained! :)

Yes, thank you for that explanation. It made sense to me too!

I'm running more on emotional content than logical at this moment...

To be clear, I'm talking about using the steemit tag here. You were flagged because some folks have decided that tag spam is something worth their time and effort to enforce.

You produced content exclusive for steemit here, for a steemit wide challenge and that's why I got so angry about it, because to my mind this is totally relevant.

Had you just cross posted a story from somewhere, the case in their favor would be better.

Eitherway with engagement at the levels they are at and rewards as low as they are, the whole notion of enforcing tag spam rules seems like it should be laughable if it weren't for the very real problem of alienation it causes. Literally no one but steemcleaners cares about tags anymore. Furthermore, no one has a lock on what is and is not worthy of a tag. It's entirely subjective. Just avoid upvoting if incorrect tags are a thing that really rustles your jimmies.

P.S. Still waiting on reading your wife's stuff.... but have been interacting with her in comments and sooooo tempted to start reading cuz I like her already! LOLOL
But still holding out for fear that I'll meet ANOTHER like minded author that.... well.... I just commented on it to country girl. Let me just copy and paste what I said there.... here lol (instead of restating the exact same thing again)
But you'll see why I'm hesitant to meet another awesome mind... Lolololol

It's all good, but keep commentary relevant to the topic of the post since
it's respectful to the author, in this case that author is @michelle.gent who is also not my wife. My wife is @ghostwriter, so the commentary is unrelated. :D

Feel free to pop into any of my blogs or my wife's to discuss things like this.

Thanks! BTW she says you're a brilliant author.

I can't reply under the comments, but @dreemsteem and @williambanks you carry on. Mention as many other authors as you like, I'm going to check them all out! <3

So sorry @michelle.gent and @williambanks for my spinoff!
Didn't mean to be rude on your page :)

Yes I know @ghostwriter is your wife lol that's who I meant.... but I should have limited that to a post on your page!!!

My apologies for the ramble! I got carried away lol

Um, well, that hasn't been true since at least July when I signed on. No fucking way I'd put exclusive content here, in perpetuity, with no residual payments. And yes, it is arbitrary. In fact, there are no centrally published rules and from now on, every piece I post will be tagged with it.

I had a warning about using the tag 'steemit' on a story I've shared exclusively here, on steemit.

Gotcha! :)
So you can only use steemit when it's exclusive to steemit.
And you did... but they didn't realize it cuz your characters were elsewhere... just not in the current chapters.
So if I re-use anything that I've published... I can't say "steemit"

Unless I completely take it down from other sites.

Yeah?

To be honest, I have no idea now.

I don't know what changed on #6 of the six part serialisation because the other 5 were ok - or at least, I didn't get warned for them.

The stories are NOT available anywhere else unless purchased from the outlets I mentioned and therefore, they're not on any sites, they're e-books.

I'm utterly confused as to what I did wrong with the tag.

Interesting.
And frustrating lol

Ok let me clarify...
steemcleaners flagged you because it appears there has been rule change in their system.

Steemit tag used to be for anything exclusive OR relevant to steem.
They are saying your content is not relevant to steemit and that means they've dropped the "exclusive" part from the rules to the detriment of folks like yourself.

This is 2 different problems. First off, steemcleaners is backed by whales but not an official part of steemit any more than cheetah is. Thus you're literally just being flagged by vigilantes, who's views I don't think reflect the value judgements of the broader steemit community.

Secondly their ruleset is a bit arbitrary and enforcement is kind of random. You are producing exclusive content and responding to a steemit wide challenge. Ergo it is in fact relevant to the tags and thus not tag spam, even by their rules. Thus the person who actually did the flagging needs to reassess. If they really want to try and enforce a rule of "#steemit posts must be directly related to posts about steemit the website and it's developments", then this needs to be laid out in a TOS or something. This really is something that should not just be subject to whim because of it's broader implications.

Final problem, this whole concept of tag spam dates to a time when you could insert an arbitrary number of tags. Now that number is 5 and has been for awhile. Trying to enforce the tag spam rule is actually just pointless and petty especially when you consider our current engagement and retention levels which are abysmal. There are much better uses of their time.

My advice here, hop in steemit.chat hit up @walden who used to be a troll of some note, but has since rehabilitated himself. Point him at this and ask him talk to whoever did the flag and get them to remove it, because frankly it's pointless. He's a smart guy and he'll know how to present it to the rest of the group.

That story wasn't part of the Challenge30 project. It was exclusive content, just for steemit though.

I'll give @walden a shout now. Thank you for all your help in this and I've followed @ghostwriter too.

Oh, and please don't worry about going off at a tangent on this, I enjoy reading your conversation ^^ up there ;)

@anyx:

[-]anyx67 ·
@williambanks You seem hellbent on making this look like something worse than it is. Steemcleaners didn't flag her, in fact no one did, the member just left a comment, as a suggestion.

'just left a comment, as a suggestion.' Along with a threat of being flagged by @dan... just thought I'd remind you of that, even though it's obviously 'no biggie' to you and @steemcleaners, it is to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52