You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Delayed by a day, but not derailed. Sticking to the plan. Day 2 of Challenge 30

in #challenge308 years ago

Congrats! The knee pain may come from many areas, even from a bad posture during the day. Muscles are trying to adjust some imbalance and it surfaces at the knee level. All knee pains are almost never generated by the knee but by the shoulder or the lower part of the leg. My suggestion would be to warm up longer.

Walk at least 1-2 km before running.

Also, shorten you stride as much as you can. Try to imagine yourself like a geisha, very, very small steps. The shorter the stride, the less pressure on the articulations. It may feel awkward in the beginning but keep doing this.

I never had any knee problems during Ultrabalaton or Athens 48 hours.

Congrats again!

Sort:  

Thanks for that. I do run with a short stride, along the lines of Chi running.
My knees have been destroyed by many many silly things I have done over the years. It's also something I inherited from my father - his knees are shocking too!
In most cases for me the injuries flare up due to really tight quads and calves. So I just need to stretch a lot after the run and in between the runs and I should come right.
I should be ok to run again tomorrow, but I'll see how I feel.

Keep us posted :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44