If my book would be a movie; A fun contest (9 STEEM in prizes)

in #challenge6 years ago (edited)

Just playing with the idea, what if my book Ragnarok Conspiracy was to be made into a movie. Don't think it ever could given the stucture of the story and the decades the story spans. But if it were, just if, who would I envision to be cast for this movie.

Professor Wietse Dijkstra

This one goes without question. Rutger Hauer. Who else could play Wietse. Rutger would be absolutely perfect for this role of the abducted quantum computing scientists who, after having been kept captive for over half a century manages to escape from his captors and rekindles an intergalactic war in doing so.

Rachella Rodney

For Rachella, the Dutch Caribean forensic scientist who discovers the quantum-blochchain-heist that Wietse's work had made possible, Jasmin Sendar would be absolutely spot-on.

Robert Gottschalk

As for Rachella's pupil Robert, the young Forensic Science student who goes off to do on-site research on the moon to impress his mentor. I imagine that Ricardo Blei with glasses would make for a pretty decent Robert.

Pete Gottschalk

Finally, for the first half of the dream cast, Robert's big brother Pete. The role of the tough debrisphere miner and war veteran would be absolutely perfect for Mathias Varela, that is, if he would be able to pull of a Duch accent.

Contest

So how about some of the other main characters. I want you guys to think about that one.

  • Professor Bjarne Fjelstadt
  • New-Zion Agent John William Bridgewater
  • New-Zion Agent Xavier Latour
  • Dakila de la Vega (aka Admiral Kotu)
  • Gwen van Lonyay
  • Patrick Reed

Let's do a little contest. I'm setting aside 9 STEEM for imaginary casting for this never-to-be-maid movie version of Ragnarok Conspiracy. There will be a 1.5 STEEM prize for each of the above characters. Imagine yourself a movie-director in charge of casting the actors for this movie.

To enter the contest, tell me who you would cast for one of these characters from my book. Include a picture of the person you would cast that you feel captures the essence of the character most. You can do one entry for each of the six characters.

If there are at least two entries for a given character, I will give away 1.5 STEEM to the entry I like most. Unless the entries are so far out of scope that it becomes clear you didn't read a single word of my story, your entry will be valid.

Entry to this contest closes in one week on Juli 4th 0:00 AOE (Juli 4th 12:00 GMT).

Have fun with this contest, and I'm looking forward to your entries.

Sort:  

@doughtaker , @tcpolymath , @bashadow , @einarpetersen , @marzyoung22 , @nexusfyre , @steppingout23 , @bardbarian , @hassanabid , @fersher , @arthur.grafo , @diomedes , @wrath-of-grapes , @aron.wolde , @spiritualmax , tagging in ppl who gave me feedback on my story. You guys might be interested in this little bonus competition just for the fun of it.

Thanks (dankie) for thinking of me, but I have a terrible memory for names, so I hrdly know any actors. Still, I like your idea.

I too dream of doing this with my book, but I do not want it with real live actors, I would want it to be made by someone like Studio Ghibli. Check out their movies and yuo'll see why (Nausica would be a good one, or else, Grave of the Fireflies)

I would kind of like Hugh Laurie for Dakila. You might need a time machine to make the ages match up, but since this is imaginary, why not?

I didn't get a good enough sense for the others to cast them.

I am not familiar with movie actors, and I certainly have never heard of any of the people that you mentioned. The only role that I would have any clue for casting would be Xavier Latour, and I would cast Bobby Lashley in that role.

lashley
Source: Bobby Lashley's Twitter profile pic

Though he's most famous for pro wrestling, Bobby Lashley's been in MMA and has had a few acting roles, so I feel that the combination of size, speed, strength, and previous relevant experience make him a good fit here.

I've resteemed the post in the hopes that maybe other people can come up with some good fits for the other roles.

I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

You are going to get yourself flagged down to zero if you continue doing this

I will not downvote you this time because I am hoping you are new and do not know better, but you deserve it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58