Challenge - Surviving (& travel) only off Steemit rewards! #0

in #challenge6 years ago (edited)

I'm sure at least similar idea crossed mind of each and every one of active Steemians. What if....

What if I could just travel the world, post awesome pictures, withdraw rewards, buy gas in my van, some food and fresh coconuts and onto the next destination!..

Well, if it didn't cross your mind, at least mine did. To do a trip like that is my lifelong childish dream...Obviosly, some income is needed. Be it passive or active, it needs to be done from a laptop from the Van. There are hundreds of YT tutorials for freelancing and digital nomadism. But I wonder, couldn't Steemit be also a help here? So why not just test it in friendly environment?


Picture source - Pixabay

From this Friday morning(31st May) till Sunday evening (2nd June), I'll try tu survive just on the rewards I got from Steemit previous days!

Experiment rules & details

Days mapping

Since it takes some time to get the upvotes, there obviously needs to be some lag to make this work. I've decided that 2 days should be enough. What that means? Rewards will get "unlocked" for me 48 hours after publishing a post. It means that:

  • Rewards for Wednesday posts -> can be used on Friday and later
  • Rewards for Thursday posts -> can be used on Saturday and later
  • Rewards for Friday posts -> can be used on Sunday

Rewards formula

Well, thinking I could live of my current rewards would be strictly naive. My average reward with curators 25% still in fluctuates slightly below 1 dollar. That's why I decided that multiplying rewards by three would make it slightly more doable. That leaves me with this final amount of Euros to use:

Hypothesis - Steemit "Moon"

My plan is to test, whether it's possible to survive strictly on money made on Steemit. Accomodation is not taken into account since living in the van is relatively free of cost.

Starting from Friday, I'll document how much money I got for my posts and comments and how I've spent them. Should be fun! :)

So have in mind..

That with every partial upvote instead of 100% one, you're basically taking food off my plate!! :D Haha kidding, I'm obviously very grateful for every upvote I'll get and let's see if this symbolical "moon" of Steemit is possible. Let's see if I'll make it alive till Sunday or will die of hunger. My life is in your hands now :D

Thanks for reading!
Martin

You can find my latest posts here:

  1. [My 3 months in Pakistan #4] Lahore - traffic, cuisine, city & Badshahi mosque
  2. Saturday Ulog #2: Champions league finals in La Komuna!
  3. Last class ever!! ...Detailed look back on my 18 years long education journey STEP BY STEP
  4. Jiu jitsu, creativity and dreams...Why do I suddenly have these crazy-ass dreams?
  5. Has Elon finally made it to the Mars? (Muscat, Oman)
Sort:  

dope idea, ive been trying to do something similar but with the price of steem being so low it is nearly impossible unless you post like 4 killer posts everyday and they catch traction. im pulling for you

Hmm I'm just wondering here, how much r you really pulling for me and how much for yourself :P U Could have distributed that self-upvote liiiittle bit more between me and you and not in 60:1 ratio :P Unless you're on the same challenge as I am :D

Anyway, seems you're a cannabis proponent and I can't get angry at these people :)) Were u just a normal dude, I'd be cursing you here :D well, peace out! :D

dude i spent the last 2 years living on less than $600 a month in a tiny village in eastern europe surviving only on my online income (amazon, steemit, crypro). I can't really go back to the States cuz $600 does not cut it out there =')

Hmm that's the different read then! Good for you, finding Steemit so early! My challenge would be for sure easier if I'd be in Slovakia right now and not Austria where everything is 2times more expensive :D Anyway, thx for support, srry for offensive read, best of luck and let the smoke rise :P

that's what's up man! good luck bro

it is possible, we just need to wait for SBD to go up again =). last year when it was at it's highest (over $11), I cashed out my 100 something SBD and went to Columbia! It paid for my hotel, flight and food =). Be patient!

Nice!! Great timing on that sell action :D !

Wow, interesting survival challenge! Hope you had few good meals this week, before the challenge started. Just in case :))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57741.16
ETH 2947.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69