One Meal A Day (Day 4, 9/3/2018)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge6 years ago

One Meal A Day Challenge
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3

On the fourth day things got a little easier. I started the day at 8am at the computer getting up to date on school and forgot about hunger and thirst.

11am: Still printing out school materials. The new semester starts next Monday. Our university's virtual classroom is just now beginning to be filled with updated information. A lot to read and figure out before classes officially begin. Not had a single drop of water since this morning. My mouth still smells of toothpaste.

1140am: First half a bottle of water.

12pm: Got a phone call. Invitation to dinner.

1pm: After a long deliberation, decided to heat up yesterday's leftovers for lunch. With free dinner a possibility, there is no reason to keep the half-eaten food till dinner time. Made a "milkshake" with one apple and 2 oreo biscuits.

Lunch

130pm: Burped after lunch. My body is beginning to tell me that this portion is filling, perhaps too much.

230pm: Drank a bottle of water.

3pm: Finished the first half a bottle. 1 litre in total so far. Going for my usual round the park walk.

530pm: After making 3 rounds of the same lake, left the park to walk to work. I teach private students to make some pocket money while studying. Was it the prospect of work that made me too busy to think about food this whole day?

8pm: Finished work, off to dinner as the invitee. I almost couldn't finish the regular portion of food that was my dinner. Usually I'd be the fastest to finish and spy around for seconds. Today, it seems like because of the lunch that I had, I'm finding dinner too heavy. Lunch, a regular meal, seemed to have become an extra meal. I had to loosen my belt (worn with the usual level of comfort) to finish dinner. I felt very bloated, though I'm sure it is not visible on the outside. It feels as if I've had one too many chicken breasts or half a kilo too much of ice cream. Fortunately this is not a buffet dinner. My friend would've felt cheated if she had invited me to a buffet in the hope of eating the house down.

1040pm: Reached home, walked all the way to ease some of the "eaten too much" discomfort.

11pm: Tried to sleep, lethargic, but heartbeat still elevated.

1207am: My fitbit watch's records showed that I really fell asleep past midnight.

Do poor people actually get used to eating so little a day that when they're given extra food to eat their bodies actually feel uncomfortable?

Historically, the human body was built to last weeks without food. When our hunter-gatherer ancestors went for days on end without food and they came across an animal and killed it, what did they do? Eat the damn animal, of course. Humans would've gone extinct before the days of agriculture had our bodies not evolved to eat as much as is available after a fast.

Or have the thousands of years of agriculture and reliable food supplies actually naturally selected for modern humans no longer capable of starving and refeeding?

Sort:  

Hola @mathslover, upv0t3
Este es un servicio gratuito para nuevos usuarios de steemit, para apoyarlos y motivarlos a seguir generando contenido de valor para la comunidad.
<3 Este es un corazón, o un helado, tu eliges .

: )


N0. R4ND0M:
2219 1338 5482 6861
1822 2896 6261 6435
2463 5765 7014 3632
6234 9508 7580 5753

Congratulations @mathslover! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mathslover! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72