Challenge: Create a 100% Steem Power Badge!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge8 years ago (edited)

Challenge: If you're a designer, create a "100% Steem Power" badge!

With the price of STEEM below $0.18, I thought a bit about what could happen if we all selected the "Power Up 100%" option when creating new posts. I'd love to have a badge I can use to indicate my selection, but I'm not a designer. That's where you come in! (Or maybe someone you know.)

Let's create a small badge we can float at the top right of our posts which indicate to readers the rewards are exclusively in Steem Power. Over time, that might help with the amount of liquid steem hitting the markets.

What do you think?

Edit: the default payout is still 50/50, but it appears to use whatever your last selection was, as long as your last selection was not 0%. You can adjust the reward payout using this selection when creating a new post:

Will this help the Steemit economy? Will a visible badge help curators know which authors are interested in Steemit long term?

If you think so, please create or get your designer friends to create a nice badge we can all use. I'm thinking a small circular badge which can be floated to the right at the top of a post. Something unobtrusive and stylish. If you're a designer and you like this idea, either leave your image in the comments below or create your own post featuring your image and link to it in a comment. If you want this idea to get more attention, resteem this to your followers or send your designer friends a link to it.

Edit 2: @craig-grant pointed out there's an open Github issue for highlighting 100% SP posts, but it's a month old. I'd still like to see a community-created badge we can use within our posts until that issue is resolved.

As always, thanks for voting, listening, reading, commenting, and following. You are much appreciated!

Previous related posts:


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, voluntaryist, and blockchain enthusiast. He wants to help create a world we all want to live in.

Sort:  

this is being worked on, there is an issue on github about it @ https://github.com/steemit/steemit.com/issues/261

I figured it would be eventually, along with many other social and gamification badges. Great to see a Github issue for it and that it will be part of the post title! Very cool. I hope they get it done soon. Until then, I'd like a badge.

Here you go! My submission for the badge. It's just a concept idea. I need to finish it up by maybe putting a border around it and making a smaller version but here's the link to download the full size.

100% Steem Power badge by Meredith Loughran

BAM! That's strong. :)

I think the standard default is still 50/50. But I think it automatically defaults to whatever your last setting was.
When I did it, I found that I could get more Steem if I used the market. I power up everything anyway, but want to do whatever will result in the most Steem.

Since I'm not literally squeezing my budget for EVERY penny, I've been powering up everything but 20 STEEM because I am earmarking that for contest giveaways and random giving to random, otherwise struggling steemians. :) Pay it Forward!

Kudos!
Yeah, I power it up too, but squeeze every penny. :) Before powering up, I pay a few folks for the great work they're doing too, attempting to promote the development of Steemit promoting blockchain projects. It's not much, but hopefully it's helping.

Ah, interesting. I did one post a 100% Steem Power but I think my last post was normal... maybe it wasn't and I just didn't notice? I guess I'll find out when it pays out.

Mine's still defaulting to 50/50. Maybe I'm just slow. ;)

I just confirmed on @corinnestokes' computer that the default is still 50/50. I think you're right about it using whatever was done previously.

Yep, I see it there as a Local Storage variable in my browser:

Here's where it's set in the code:

https://github.com/steemit/steemit.com/blob/0612e6502c79fe1561d2b68fd8421f04da27c388/app/components/elements/ReplyEditor.jsx#L172

I'll edit my post. Thanks!

Either go simple like 100% only, or go the brief explanation way.. imo

HAhaha... didn't you just tell me a few minutes ago in chat you're half drunk? Heheh. I love the "Steemit needs it" part. Reminds me of uncle sam war posters.

Lol.. i'm a functional drunk.. goes with the night music business :)
But yeah, i really think the best is to go for a simple 100% symbol, keep it modern and hip lol. Like this -

Just the 100% part should do. Make it small, almost iconized.. and the icon's everywhere too.. in our chat app emojis

Now we're getting somewhere! Thank you.

I like this idea, while a inline badge with the title for the main page is good I think a more descriptive badge within the post would be great as well. If at the very least it could break down any confusion for newcomers who may not know what a icon in the title might be. *runs off to work on badge.

Excellent! Sorry, I missed your comment earlier because I didn't get a reply notification. I like these a lot. Thank you!

I love the idea @lukestokes
I may have to design one until it's fixed in a hardfork because I also love badges. :D

DOEEEETTTTT :)

Hey, I like this idea! I've been thinking about this for the past week.
Do you have more specifics on what your ideal badge would include?

Good question. It could something simple, maybe just with the words 100% Steem Power. I dunno. I'm not a designer so I'm probably the wrong person to ask. Hehehe. :)

An interesting minor addition.

Great idea, I would definitely use that badge. I pretty much only do 100% SP now. I only have a small amount of SBD and Steem for contest I hold and SBD for purchasing whatever things I may need online.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56768.45
ETH 2391.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28