ArtSearch Logo for @TheNewAlchemists contest

in #challenge6 years ago

Finally found some time to try out my graphic design skills with the Logo for @TheNewAlchemists contest held by @lilyraabe

I don´t think that graphic design is one of my strong suits (if I have any of those...) but since i´m in steemit, I´m somehow compeled to go out of my confort zone, and I´m liking it so why not give it a try. :)

For the contest, Lily asked for a logo that wasn´t specific of any art since the goal of @TheNewAlchemists is to curate all kinds of arts. That´s a challenge. How to say art whitout showing any of the typical icons.... hmmmmm... I´ll have to go more conceptual that I´m used to, so let´s begin with a search.

First thing that came into my mind was to try with cave art or something related to it, as a meaning to say that if you find art, you find a treasure.
800px-GuaTewet_tree_of_life-LHFage.jpg
Source

That is the feeling I think the first people finding something like this must had.

But you don´t go with your first idea without looking for something better. The idea evolved and I started looking for ancient gods of art in different cultures and some symbol related to them.

That´s when these guys appeared!
Eye_idol_MET_DP224749.jpg
Source

They´re some extrange all seeing god idols from Tell Brak, todays Syria. I really liked them so I tried to apply the idea to a character.

sketch1.jpg

sketch2.jpg

The characters are kind of funny but they weren´t telling "art" for me and I decided to abandon the idea of a character for the logo.

After a bit of thinking I finally decided to make different shapes with different colors representing the different arts and an eye that´s always looking for them. That is, at least, the idea in my mind. :)

logo.jpg

Then I included the "artsearch" word over different background tones.
artsearchlogo_w.jpg
artsearchlogo_n.jpg
artsearchlogo_d.jpg

And that´s it.

Thanks for watching

follow me!
If you want :)

Sort:  

Nice one, I'm adding you to the @ArtzOne voting list.

awesome my friend. i like your logo

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67