King of the Tangent | Favorite* website | This and That Challenge Day 5

in #challenge6 years ago (edited)

I thought quick and easy about this one, and while I really did try to think of the websites I actually use and like, I just decided to go with ol’ faithful.


BE60F75F-89BB-42B7-A945-015FAB94F445.jpeg
source: pixabay


Wikipedia


Besides google and maybe a handful of others which I conveniently have now forgotten (Steemit only recently and due to addiction) —I really don’t like any websites that I happen to visit. And more importantly, I tend to go online only when I have to.

Google would have been a good choice but it is too broad, and really for me “internet” and “google”
at this point are almost interchangeable.

As for other “websites,” most of them I use an app for — and I feel that the interface is typically better on the app. Except for YouTube. Youtube is just utter garbage all together. I don’t want to pay to listen to music in the background on my phone, you fak-face-betch of an app —even tho I do use the much better Spotify, which I don’t consider a website but an app. And then there’s the ads, and the auto play and the ads and the region restrictions... but otherwise YouTube is not such a bad site.

And yes, I’m usually browsing from the comfort of my hand[-held device]. Which makes my experience slightly different than if I was using a laptop or desktop.


return from the tangent, to the tangential


E680286E-A0A7-473F-A2A0-00FBC5A21A9D.jpeg
alternate definition of tangent. source: wiktionary (not a bad website either)


Wikipedia

...is a good way to start learning about something. Of course I never trust it one hundred percent and always try to at least look to see what the sources are if not actually checking them.

So why the tangent king? At this point it should be quite obvious. I tend to have 27 browser tabs open when using wiki. Want to learn about honey? Wiki: honey, ancient uses for honey, honey bee, wasp, bee hive, Honey Nut Cheerios, cheerio: British greeting, Great Britain. Or I could have gone done the ancient uses for honey route and ended up in ancient Egypt or the wasp, hornet route and ended up in Charlotte via Michael Jordan.


Happy wiki-ing!


101EA18A-49AB-4058-BE0A-7DBB70B40A1E.jpeg
source 1: screenshot by @hrissm. source site: wiki



I’m supposed to nominate people but no one seems to want to step up to the plate and take up the challenge.

So I nominate everyone. If you do this challenge and tag me in each one of your posts I’ll enter you into a random drawing for 5 sbd for top prize.

I will be subjectively choosing who gets entered based on quality of their post.

Peace out.



Thanks @tkappa for the challenge!


Rules

  • Choose one of the Themes (see below) each day and explain why it's your favorite*
  • Post a picture of the theme. It can include yourself if you like...
  • Nominate up to three people each day.
  • Tag it with #favouritethisandthat (*damn your British English) 0:-)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you accept the challenge.
  • Kept from the previous waybackmusic challenge: please follow @greek-trail for great content made by [our fellow] Greek Steemians

Themes You Can Choose From

| Decade | Game | Movie Character | TV Series | Website | Public Figure | Monument |

the above text in “rules” has been modified by @hrissm


Sort:  

I still prefer Pandora for music. I know Spotify and YouTube Red have made a big cut into the portable music scene but Pandora is my old tried and true app for it. I have it loaded across more than 10 devices including my car.

You know I used to be a big fan of Pandora but I listen to a lot of Greek music and a lot of stuff I want to listen to isn't on Pandora... and I've found them on Spotify.

Well, Greek is foreign to me. Unless I am using Windex.........my wife and daughters have watched "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" to many times.

Does Spotify start you off with Greek music or do you have to search for it? I wonder how much more data collection they do than Pandora.

No everything on my Spotify is essentially me searching for it. And the less common the music the less variety I get if it auto selects music based on a song I think they call that feature “radio”

το χρησιμοποιώ όμως στο 99.9% τον ποστ!
πολυ ωραιο το ποστ!!!
Καλημέρα καλό ΣΚ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75