5 Things I Forgive Myself For

in #challenge6 years ago

2017-01-10 13.46.46-2 copy.jpg

Amongst the numerous newsletters piled up in my inbox, this gem by Sara Tasker stopped me in my tracks. She's an Instagram personality catapulted into the spotlight over the past three years, now making tons of money curating her grid and showcasing products. But, she is also a normal gal who struggles just like the rest of us.

What she forgave herself for in this article made me nearly envious - her non-negotiable need for naps and excessive rest, her intense and obsessive research of random subjects (eg. Mark Hamill), and her lack of willpower after a stint in her 20s of racking up massive debt. These are elements of her identity that she was once ashamed of. Now, she's set them free in the sea of the internet and who knows, maybe she really did forgive herself?

I don't have ten things - maybe that's something I can forgive myself for.

But, I have five.


Five things I forgive myself for

  1. Choosing my mental health over love. I've walked away from more lovers, people I genuinely cared for and thought I'd stick with for the long-term, than I care to admit. People I still think about, wish I could reach out to, but know that I made the right decision in walking away. Whether it is taking space, establishing boundaries, or leaving all-together, my mental health (and my overall life experience) is more important than love. And when it's true, love will find a way.

  2. My curiosity and the incessant questions I must answer. I am always asking why. Sometimes how. And to me, nothing is impossible. Realists will scoff at me as if I am naive or stubborn, constantly seeking a solution to problems that seem unsolvable. I still feel bad as someone lays into me that I'm being too idealistic, that I need to let something go. I have known my intuition longer than anyone else, and I trust it. If it's curious, I'm going to find out what there is to learn.

  3. Wandering. Physically and intellectually. Walking familiar streets, browsing Pinterest, turning off the GPS in a foreign place... I don't wander all the time, but I am done apologizing for wanting to blow off the plans I've made just to spontaneously explore. I have felt bad so many times, that the people around me were worried that I didn't call or that I canceled on an outing due to my own meandering. Surprises are where my soul grows and where inspiration is born.

  4. Not having a steady job or income. And no intention of pursuing one. Life and finances freak me out. Being a freelancer, an artist, a hustler, an entrepreneur - it's no easy road. There is no security. There's rarely a bail-out either. You're on your own, floating in the abyss with nothing but the things you've brought or built. Too often I've told myself, "Maybe you should just get a job in sales. Make some money and get comfortable for a while." Even the thought makes my heart shudder. Structure and managerial expectations aren't where I thrive, and I'm ready to be okay with that.

  5. Being almost entirely unable to take it easy, give myself grace, and say that I'm "good enough." Does that seem counter-intuitive to you, reader? Should I forgive myself for treating myself poorly? The difference between me and someone else who is tough on themselves is that in the back of my mind I hear my ballet teacher, in her thick Macedonian accent, If you do not feel pain, you are not stretching. But, it is a sweet pain, the kind that gives you hope. My threshold for greatness only expands as I matur​, and that sweet pain is my gauge​ for just how hard I can push myself. And, I'm done feeling bad about other people telling me I'm too hard on myself. It's okay that I'm too hard on myself - it's what makes me me.

Bonus: Being unable to forgive myself for so much quite yet. There are many parts of myself I still cannot set free. So many expectations, standards, falsehoods, unknowns, discomforts, and unattractive bits that I still can't say, "Hey, it's okay. You're okay."

And, that's okay, too.

Self-care is not a perfect practice, and it certainly isn't a short-term solution. I am bringing this to Steemit as a challenge to you, my dear reader, to look within and ask, "For what can I forgive myself? How might my acceptance ease my weary soul?"

If you're reading this, I nominate YOU to take on the 5 Things I've Forgiven Myself For challenge.

Tag me in it, share with me and your friends + followers what it looks like to give yourself a smidgen of grace. Don't feel like you have to forgive yourself for anything you're not ready for... just what you can handle today.

To get us started, I hope a few folks will join me in this:

Use the hashtag #forgivemyself to join our little community.


Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. You might have found me through the Ladies of Steemit curation initiative, showcasing the female voices on the Steemit platform. Let's hang out on the blockchain and see where it takes us.

Proud member of

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

promo-mentors

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

teamgirlpowa.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

tna

ono-footer.jpg

Sort:  

That's a really lovely post @ameliabartlett! It's one of the best skills you can develop in life - forgive oneself. Thank you for sharing so vulnerably. It's beautiful. I'm going to take this inspiration and think about it - I'm not good at forgiving myself. Might have to forgive myself for that too ;-)

Hey Amelia. Thanks for sending the inspiration through the blockchain. It was a powerful writing experience for me, with the nudge from @mountainjewel ...

Here's mine, if you would like to read it ... (she says, ever so shyly)...

Witty can relate, absolutely love this sweets.

Thanks @ameliabartlett for this Post. I can totally relate to many of those but especially number 3. I have always been a precocious and a curious person since I was a toddler. I love to wander off on a random path I see on the side of the road. Or just walk out my house and go exploring in area of woods I haven't explored yet.

Again thankd for sharing :)

Your list is a breath of fresh air. Thank you for letting us into your world.
I love this.

Surprises are where my soul grows and where inspiration is born.

I am a wanderer and often do this, too.

BEAUTIFUL. I have been musing on this all week @mountainjewel.. itsa coming... xx

Congratulations @ameliabartlett! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

thanks for this amelia. i really enjoyed reading the ways you're freeing yourself up through forgiveness and acceptance! you do you! i have some inspiration to write one of my own :) xo

edit: here's mine :)

(Oh and DAMN how can I forget to comment on that AWESOME picture of you! <3)

Aww @soyrosa thank you! This photo was taken at a very vulnerable, transformational time - I am most myself here, as raw as it is.

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by @ecs community leaders @chelsea88 & @inthenow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43