Ep 02 Difficulties Make Us StrongsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #challange30days7 years ago

This is my second post in the #challange30days and I was wondering all day long what story I will tell this time. It took me the whole day to decide and I change my mind several times. It's difficult for me to write about difficult times or subjects, not because my life was a only a breeze but mainly because I am not use to expose I guess :) I was and still am the warrior that wins it all and most of my friends believe that I am made from some kind of steel (not far from reality but let's not forget the post :P) So, I will share few of the challenges faced when I moved to this country and why are they important to me

  1. Almost two years ago I decided to move to a new country and to start over at 36 years old. I booked my one way flight and put my trust in the Universe. The reason behind was a man I've met in a dance festival and with whom I exchanged maybe 20 min and a Facebook account. I just felt ready for whatever will come. So I asked him if I can stay in his place for a while, until I will see why I felt the urge to suddenly move. He was so kind and let me stay in the living room as he was sharing the flat with some flatmates (pretty common in London but new and strange for me that I was coming from my own apartment). I remember I was so stressed about not disturbing them that I use to leave at 6 am in the morning and get back very late in the evening. The man I was a bit in-love with didn't seem to share my feelings so I need to move on and see what broth me her.

  2. My first job was in an organic coffee shop where I was hired to wash the dishes. My ego was smashed indeed, miss phd engineer wasn't prepared for this and I could not take it easy. After my first day I come back home exhausted (10 hours standing and carrying heavy pots back and forth) and I burst into tears. I did cry for almost one hour and then I danced to let my soul heal.

  3. I did struggle to get up the next day at 6 again and decided that no matter what I can do better than yesterday. It was not my dream job and I was shit at doing it. It was the first time in my life I had to work with my body and it was damn hard. I felt I like my lessons in small potions so I decided to try something else. I am stubborn enough not to get dead by the first wave. So I managed to move in my own room in zone 4 of the suburbs (cheap indeed but almost the size of my bathroom in Romania). I struggle to own a bank account as here is like an endurance test. I changed the job for something more easy to me: mailman and then a truck driver and then a bicycle currier until I found a position that allowed me to let go of the income stress.

  4. When I left my country I had accumulated some debts as my two years off eat all my resources. So I started from -10000 euro and not from 0 :) Now I am relaxed, debt free and on the plus side. I just would never deny that the hungry period was one of the most creative one, the need is a very good teacher. I am aware now if I move again (maybe this time without a man in my head :D) it will take again a while until the things get back into the flow. But the beauty of all this difficulties is to make you remind again and again yes I can.

Great evening to all and hugs !

Sort:  

Hey @teodora i will follow your 30days epic

Hope this steem site give you some extra motivation.

Maybe i should try one of this.

Every fail is a succes and every success is a fail.

I have find out if you want.to success you really have to focus on the process. The how is not as importat as the why.

Good luck on steemit

Please follow me at @mrstaf

I will upvote you.

Best regars

Good luck to you too :)

Powerful story! I'm so happy things are working out for you now.

They are indeed for now, just I do have an weird feeling it will not be the last time. I guess my ego likes to suffer :) Thank you for your kind words

@teodora. Please take care of the tag #challenge30days was the inital one.

I know your struggle, as an Romanian expat (let's use the positive word used for emigrant). If you manage to adapt and overcome the hurdles, you will have a very big advantage in life, you know two worlds and can take the best from them. The encountered hardships shape your character, making it more powerful.
Your post gave me also inspiration to write about my journey in one of the days of the challenge. Thank you

Thank you Alex, it was a good life lesson indeed and now every time I go into a coffee or a restaurant and eat I remember to thank them deeply for their work. Is something I will never take it for granted. Glad to hear that my post was one of inspiration, looking forward to read your stories :)

Wow, thank you for sharing these stories here @teodora! I am both delighted and inspired to finally discover what goes on beneath your wonder-woman mask! :) I've admired your courage when I heard you were moving to UK and I admire you even more now when I have a glimpse of what you've been through. Keep doing all your "crazy" things and inspire us to do the same by sharing them here. Hugs all the way to UK <3 :)

How I miss those hugs mmm :) Still good for my soul that I receive them online. Hugs back and thank you for you kind words cutie :)

:) <3 miss you too

For sure we have to take the lessons from our life, @teodora!
Thanks for sharing :)

Love that you ain't afraid of hard work, keep on charging!

I am not, but I am better as a truck-driver than a dish washer :) I will keep in mind next time I change the country. See you around :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64