Does chainBB.com have plans to power forums on custom domains?

in #chainbb6 years ago

I think a lot of forum owners would be interested in being able to use the chainBB.com system on their own domain name where it would work just like chainBB.com currently works except it would be on their own domain and it would only shows their own list of forums. Does chainBB have plans for this? I think you do based your FAQ where you mention "future plans are to expand and allow anyone to run their own forum with the chainBB engine", but I just wanted to make sure I understood things correctly since right now it seem like I can already run my own forum on chainBB.com. I would be interested in any details you have to share about your future plans regarding forums on custom domains.

Sort:  

The ChainBB front-end is just a static site, so you could just fork the front-end, and force it to ignore all forums, except for the ones you want.

Thanks for the information, however, I don't think I'm knowledgeable enough yet to be able to do the fork and modification like you mentioned.

Yep! It's definitely being planned for, though I'm unsure of the timeline.

Thanks, as another suggestion, in addition to the option of having a custom domain home page that lists a bunch of forums, it would also be nice for a site that has just one forum to have the home page option of simply listing all the topics in the forum instead of listing a single forum that people have to click to see the topics. In other words, a site that has a bunch of forums would have a home page that looks something like https://chainbb.com/forums whereas a site with only one forum could have a home page that looks something like https://chainbb.com/f/chainbb (it just saves users of a single forum site from having to make a click to drill down to see the topics).

How about just using a redirection script or setup for my own domain which supports subdirectories ?
So can I just redirect my own domain to a forum over here as long as you don´t yet offer
custom domain support @jesta ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09