SIGNING-IN TO CHAINBB IS EASY!

in #chainbb7 years ago (edited)

I see that some people were having problems with registering. So let me explain everything in this post.

ChainBB is a forum on top of a steem blockchain. Those platforms were made for you as it is about you and how you digest the content. To progress it is important for Steem to be available in all kind of styles and with different usages. And to be even more likeable for massive amount of people it is always great that people develop those platforms. It shows its strength and possibilities.

So head over to https://beta.chainbb.com.
If you have account on Steem (I hope you do) you click sign-in.



When you click on Sign-in it this notification shows up. You have nothing to worry about if you will follow my steps.

Click proceed.


What is the difference between using Steemit or using chainBB for posting and commenting?

To fund chainBB and help jesta (the author), there are beneficiaries of 15%. That means that 60% of potential payout go to the author (from 75% on Steemit), 25% go to the curators and 15% to help the platform. This should not discourage you as there are some ways how to make this works for both parties.

As you can see you need posting key. It will work as your password on the site. Some people are being wrongly scared that this could mean that their Steem wallets are in danger. They are not, because posting key is used only for posting and voting and they are stored unencrypted in your browser locally.


So head over to your wallet and click on permissions.




You need to use private posting key. Where to find it is in the picture below.



You then copy the private key and use it for the chainBB registration.



And that is it!



You should at least try it as you cant really lose anything and Cryptocopus is giving away 3$ worth of Steem with an upvote if you comment to this post - https://steemit.com/zappl/@cryptoctopus/meshing-steem-projects-a-new-zappl-board-on-chainbb - from the chainBB platform!

Maybe you will like the forum style format more than this classic Steemit one. Or maybe you do like more a twitter style. That style is also coming soon!



And by the way, this post was made inside of chainBB forum! :)



Thank you!


Sort:  

Can I post to any category using chainBB, or am I limited to the list that is shown?

Hello gregario.

I guess you are limited on what you can put as the main tag. But as the rest you can put any tag you want.

Nice post, explained it very clearly. I'm loving chainbb so far... maybe it's cos i grew up with the BB system. With some minor improvements (img posting) and i think i could switch over completely.

Sorry, but for the rest of us, where does the BB originate from?

I'm not sure about the origins but here's the wiki page for BBS. They were pretty big in the 90s and even today there are a few big ones around niches.

Ah "Bulletin board system"

Hey,

I am just trying ChainBB, I will try to use it like a regular forum which is a lot more posting and less worrying about style and pictures like you would on blogs.

Lets see how it goes!

welcome brother. Here's my vote going for you!

Good luck! :)

Great guide! Will resteem for sure. Commenting from chainBB of course ;)

Giving it a go now --thanks for the outline and i am following you too --David

You wont regret it @daydreams4rock. Its outlined very well and looks much more familiar than steemit user interface. But steemit is the big mother with more tools and security

I will use it everyday and read posts there too - i reckon i am lucky to have found chainbb. Thanx for your help.

Hey, awesome!

just made a post but couldn't work out how to link a photograph to the post -thnx @eirik

mmm you could use "steemit posting", drag the image here and then copy the link to the chainbb :)

i will give it a try - makes sense thankyou

Plus if you comment or post using chainBB, you get a free ~$3 vote from me!!!

Is that automatic?

What is? :)

The Vote from cryptoctopus

Its manual. But if you did put an comment from chainBB on the post - do not worry! He will not forget about you!

nope, I do it manually for now.

It shows that I post it via steemit, but I did not.

Was it changed when I add tags, because they were not saved?

@eirik can you consider posting next time by using chainBB?

But I did. I dont know what happened there.

But I saw that the tags were not saved so I edited the post in steemit. Could that be the problem?

Oh ok. It shows from where it was last edited. No worried, chainBB still gets the prize :-)

Hello Cryptoctopus.

If I would put my, for example, active key as my private key for signing-in, would it stop me or not? Is it safe-proof?

not completely sure but I think that's what @jesta said.

Lol thanks for posting this man, had to figure out how to sign in there for a sec...

Hi @eirik,

Thank for sharing the information..Upvoted and followed

Awesome gonna check this out as I do not always have time for fancy blog enhancements! That will happen with a 18 month old and new baby soon!

Congratulations!

Can't sign in on mobile? :/

Yeah, I didnt find sign-in button on mobile.

But It works if you request desktop version :)

Is there a chance for mobile app of it down the road? I barely use my laptop I'm on the move so much.

I'm sure it will be implemented at some point, mobile is too important to ignore.

I'll get it implemented soon - perhaps as soon as this weekend. It should work, the controls are just hidden from mobile at the moment.

Sometimes you make me wonder what other devs are doing when you're churning out features and products so fast. Could Steemit inc hire few Jestas? We need cloning technology now.

I can't speak for the other devs, but there's a much different dynamic when flying solo and working on a prototype vs working within an organization and building everything to standards. Right now I can move pretty fast on chainBB because at this very moment, it's just me. At some point I'll have to slow down feature development and start optimizing the code, but that time isn't now.

One of the things I've learned over the years is the fine balance between doing something right and getting it done. When you're testing out the reception of a product, you lean heavier on getting it done, and care a bit less about doing it right.

If we do figure cloning out - I want to claim some clone beneficiaries rewards :)

You can expect men in black to come take few hair examples within short notice, paperwork will come in mail.

And you're totally right, sometimes one can just get a bit impatient.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65